We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food ”
Review of Wombat's Chai

Wombat's Chai
Ranked #11 of 52 Restaurants in Healesville
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

This is an unassuming looking cafe, but service and food were excellent. It was busy on a Saturday morning, but nevertheless one can get a table fairly easily.

We had breakfast here as a family. The inside didn’t have many tables, so we picked a table in the courtyard. Amongst the four of us, we had the berry topping pancake, scones, poached eggs with spinach on sourdough. The servings were big and food was very fresh. The sourdough was beautiful, and so was the scone. Special mention goes to the fresh orange juice. It was definitely delicious and a fresh orange juice at some other cafe we had the next morning could not compare to the one we had at Wombat’s Chai.

We will definitely return to Wombat’s Chai next time we come back to the area.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Priceisgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2018

Loved this little cafe. It had a great range of organic food, and great coffee. Certainly worth a visit.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank ianmurphy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Had our first visit to Wombat Chai this morning and we were delighted with every aspect of the experience. It was a beautiful morning so we sat in yard at side. Everything we had from coffees & green teas, breakfasts ranging from egg & bacon toasties to eggs benedict to pancakes we all superb as were the laminations which we just had to try. The staff were friendly and provided great service. We don’t go to Healesville very often but when we next do we definitely won’t drive past.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

It's difficult to find a complete vegan breakfast that isn't either too pretentious or ridiculously priced and that you feel full and satisfied after eating. This mornings breakfast was DELICIOUS, filling, reasonably priced and organic to boot! Most cafes I end up with avo on toast with sides but today at Wombat chai I left knowing I'd be back! My friends had the crepes and the berry pancakes and were equally impressed. The staff are friendly and helpful...... you can't ask for anything more.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank Partlyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Cosy, local, friendly. I'd drive to Healesville just for the vege crepes! Pot of chai as good as this doesn't go astray either.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bec M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Wombat's Chai also viewed

Healesville, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 
Healesville, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Wombat's Chai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.