We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of Healesville Hotel

Healesville Hotel
Ranked #7 of 52 Restaurants in Healesville
Price range: AU$16 - AU$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: For decades the beautifully restored 1910 Healesville Hotel has been a warm and inviting gathering place for locals and tourists alike. Cosy, old-world vibes in the centre of town, serving modern gastropub food (and a few classic pub favourites) with a focus on local produce. A large selection of local beers on tap and an outstanding wine list with many local and international varieties. With roaring fires during winter and cool fans in summer, along with our shaded outdoor beer garden to enjoy the fresh air.
Reviewed 3 December 2022 via mobile

Arriving there,we were very impressed with the ambience..a beautful old ebwardian pub...sadly thats where it ended.....firstly we were having a ciggy with our drinks on the balcony upstairs,with our own ashtray,mind you and a very rude person came out and in no uncertain terms told us,not to smoke.That was the beginning..management were upstarts..no p.r.whatsoever..glad to get out of the place...will never return or recommend it...

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank N7609UNkateb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2022

We turned up for Sunday lunch @ the Bistro (restaurant closed). Didn't have our beer or wine of choice as they tend to promote locally produced wine.
We ordered the Beer Battered Fish/Chips (King George Whiting) ($30) & poached Chicken with baby Cos salad, streaky bacon& Anchovy dressing.. ($19).
Both were absolute winners, the whiting was in a lovely (non oily) batter, of a good size & was excellent, the poached chicken was faultless & the plate went back very clean.
Money very well spent!

Date of visit: November 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2022

lunch during a week day. 5 Main meals to select from 3 with the name Wagyu (Fancy wording doesn't make a good meal), all Very pricey, No regular beers on tap, only boutique beers -Yuk
Service was quick but the taste was below average. Certainly not worth the money, if we'd been on our own we would of walked out. Wouldn't bother going there again.

Date of visit: September 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juba715
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 August 2022

Lunch yesterday at the Healesville Hotel was an unexpected treat! The room was warm and inviting, with mature potted plants surrounding a large arched window. Beautifully decorated with vibrant paintings and old world charm. Lots of dark wood , old wares and a charming over stuffed arm chair. The food was exceptional. We had potato croquettes with truffle. Melt in the mouth delicious. Main course was flathead, beautifully cooked and topped with a melange of vegies and spices which enhanced and did not overpower the delicate, moist fish. The wait staff were friendly and obliging. We felt thoroughly spoilt! Excellent spot for a cold winter day.

Date of visit: August 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 49LouiseK49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2022

An interesting menu with both pub regulars AND some really good dishes that were a bit different! Try the dessert: frozen gorgonzola blue cheese, quince, nashi pear & candied walnuts before they take it off the menu. Also, the bouillabaisse was delicious and the garlic toasts spot on!

Date of visit: August 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Healesville Hotel also viewed

Healesville, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Healesville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.