We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and soggy food”
Review of Healesville Hotel

Healesville Hotel
Ranked #7 of 52 Restaurants in Healesville
Price range: AU$16 - AU$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: For decades the beautifully restored 1910 Healesville Hotel has been a warm and inviting gathering place for locals and tourists alike. Cosy, old-world vibes in the centre of town, serving modern gastropub food (and a few classic pub favourites) with a focus on local produce. A large selection of local beers on tap and an outstanding wine list with many local and international varieties. With roaring fires during winter and cool fans in summer, along with our shaded outdoor beer garden to enjoy the fresh air.
Reviewed 3 January 2022

Went for a quick bite and paid an arm and a leg, $31, for a burger that was soggy, small and didn't have much on it. Little choice for food places at this time of year but that's no excuse for such poor quality and expensive food. We have enjoyed this place in the past but won't be returning at this cost.

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank TwigsGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2021 via mobile

A modest menu and good selection although the absence of the chicken Parma was noted by the kids. My wife and I shared the Lamb plate for 2…just delicious! Kids meals were spot on, gnocchi and fish was a hit!
Love the ambience, staff were very friendly and helpful. They didn’t take bookings for Sat night, just walk ups…we got lucky with one of the tables to one of three fireplaces.
The only thing I though was a miss is the selection of on-tap and bottled beer labels. The pub has some amazing ales from the micro breweries, but all I felt like was a cold draught straight from a fap. The sour beers were also spot on.
Enjoyed it and will def be back!

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank 349eddied
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2021

Sat in the outside beer/wine garden which is actually a garden. Lots of room for kids to run around. Good service. Only disappointing aspect was they did not showcase local wines and most were from areas outside of the Yarra Valley.

Date of visit: October 2021
1  Thank w00db0urnecreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2021

I live locally and have seen many menus come and go but seriously the current Thai menu ( i think only weekends) currently running through lockdown is brilliant, Thanks chefs!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charleyb200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2021 via mobile

To say the service was bad would have to mean there was some! Cold food no cutlery no salt and pepper and when we asked for a serviette waitress said you’d have to ask someone else it wasn’t her job! Ruined our much needed Family Lunch out. Don’t bother!!!!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Dream37199988497
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Healesville Hotel also viewed

Healesville, Yarra Valley
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 
Healesville, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Healesville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.