We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
AusTravellerSydney
Sydney, Australia

Tranquil, comfortable cottage; Great base for Mt Hotham skiing

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Aug 2023
We spent 5 nights in a 1 bedroom cottage in August.
The cottages are well located if you're skiing at Mt Hotham, and don't want to stay on the mountain. It's also an easy 20min drive to Bright.
The Shady Brook Cottages are 1km off the main road, so really quiet, and surrounded by beautiful gardens. So it's a tranquil spot.
The cottage was perfect for a couple, with spacious living room with dining and well stocked kitchenette, separate bedroom with comfortable queen bed and bathroom. There is also a separate laundry with powder provided. Heating was good for winter including electric blankets on the bed and heated towel rail in the bathroom. It was a very comfortable place to stay.
John was a great host and very welcoming. We would definitely stay here again.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Shady Brook Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
Main Group Dining area
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Shady Brook Cottages
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Shady Brook Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Casbak Alpine Units
    0.3 km from Shady Brook Cottages
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    0.5 km from Shady Brook Cottages
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
      2.0 km from Shady Brook Cottages
      Free parking
        0.5 km from Shady Brook Cottages
        Free parking
        Pool
        Get rewarded with One Key
        • Booking.com
        • ZenHotels.com
          AU$295
        • Priceline
        13.3 km from Shady Brook Cottages
        Free parking
        Pool
        Contact accommodation for availability.
        19.7 km from Shady Brook Cottages
        Free Wifi
        Restaurant
        King size bed in Dawn Lodge
        Contact accommodation for availability.
        20.2 km from Shady Brook Cottages
        Free Wifi
        Free parking
        View more hotels in Harrietville
        Reviews (35)
        Filter reviews
        35 results
        Traveller rating
        29
        4
        2
        0
        0
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        Traveller rating
        29
        4
        2
        0
        0
        See what travellers are saying:
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        1 - 6 of 35 reviews
        Reviewed 25 May 2021

        We will like to see the autumn colours of Bright so the first accommodation that springs to my mind is Shady Brook Cottages as we had fond memories of visiting Shady Brook Cottages during its Spring Open Day many years ago.

        I called the hosts John & Anne and was fortunate to get a booking for a 2-room apartment over the April to May weekend. This is located on the second level, above the office and where the hosts stay. The balcony offers a magnificent view of the very well-maintained gardens, which show a splendid array of autumn colours ranging from yellow to orange, red and crimson. You can see the rolling Mt Feathertop in the background and the sun rising behind it in the early morning. There are a couple of outdoor picnic tables and furniture decorating the gardens. There is a hilly walk trail around the property, vegetable gardens and ducks. The ovens river runs just outside the property and it is a short 20min drive to Bright.

        In Harrietville, the Mountain Fresh Salmon & Trout Farm as well as the Tronoh Dredge Swimming Hole, with its very scenic water reflection, are worth visiting.

        The hosts provide a free complimentary daily breakfast of substanstial portion, including eggs, bread, jam, fruits, juice, cereals and milk. They are excellent hosts whom I strongly recommend. For us, we absolutely enjoy our stay there!

        Room tip: best views
        Date of stay: May 2021
          • Sleep Quality
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank koalacountry
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 27 January 2021 via mobile

        Stayed in apartment for a couple of nights. Prefect; everything you need and lovely view from balcony overlooking gardens and mountains. All sorts of birds to watch too. Breakfast provided. Friendly staff. Very relaxing stay.

        Date of stay: January 2021
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank rkshad
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        john atkins, Owner at Shady Brook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2021

        Thanks for your review we love to share our garden and the local environment its a very special place.

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 14 March 2020

        A wonderful, tranquil base, for exploring surrounding mountains.
        Spotlessly clean.
        Hosts John and Anne were welcoming and most obliging ; even allowed me to use shower facilities hours after my checkout.

        Room tip: All are wonderful
        Date of stay: March 2020
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        1  Thank nicb289
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        john atkins, Owner at Shady Brook Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2020

        Thanks Nic and we look forward to hosting you again in the Future

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 22 February 2020 via mobile

        WOW what a superb place to stay!
        Shadybrook is very peaceful & as private as you would like it to be.
        The gardens are magnificent & the beautiful birdlife in abundance. Sitting on our verandah having coffee & croissants for breakfast listening to the river and seeing the birds was glorious.
        Of an evening having a wine and nibbles watching all the colourful birds was amazing.
        We did eat out at the local pub, Snowline and this meal was enjoyable, I a steak and my husband the octopus.
        Getting back to Shadybrook,I love the mixture of trees, truly beautiful. Th cottages are a delight & have everything you would need. Mountain charm.
        Will come back with family in the near future.
        So easy checking in, thank you John & Ann.

        Date of stay: February 2020
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank hippyausiesmelbourne
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 15 December 2019 via mobile

        This was our second visit to Shadybrook Cottages, it’s been about four years since our last visit.
        The beautiful gardens have matured and are stunning thanks to the tireless work by John and Anne.
        The cottages are very cozy with everything you would need for a short stay and the bed was very comfortable.
        My wife and I both love Harrietville and recommend that if you are in the area and need somewhere to stay definitely consider Shadybrook Cottages!

        Date of stay: December 2019
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        2  Thank g_s_king
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews