We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$142
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Hotels.com
AU$154
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
AU$114
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
TravelerTrev
Southern Highlands, Australia

A comfortable motel with peaceful serenity and mountain views

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Oct 2023
We only stayed one night but the location was worth a longer visit. The motel is located on the outskirts of Halls Gap which was a busy little village the day we visited however it was bliss to stay in the open spaces of the Grampions Motel being overlooked by the Grampions The room we stayed in was a large room with limited kitchen facilities, comfortable bed and bedding, the bathroom has a shower over the spa bath. There was a table and a seating area in the room. There was plenty of space to wander around and enjoy the visits for the local wildlife. We ate dinner in the restaurant which was reasonably priced with a pub style menu. The food was good. There is a bar available for the purchase of drinks to enjoy either sitting on the sunny balcony ot around the cosy fire in the cooler months.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Very accommodation country style management, a pleasant place to stay
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya Davey, General Manager at Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant, responded to this review
Responded 1 Nov 2023
Hi TravelerTrev,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your stay with us. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed the facilities available at The Grampians Motel, as well as the stunning views and wildlife that can be seen around the property. We are very lucky to call the Grampians home, and we love being able to share these experiences with enthusiastic travelers like yourself.

We hope to see you back again one day soon!

Kind regards,
Molly
The Grampians Motel Reception Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$173
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$173
  • Vio.com
2.5 km from Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$143
  • Agoda.com
    AU$138
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$128
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$123
  • Expedia.com
    AU$139
3.0 km from Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$91
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$99
  • Agoda.com
    AU$66
  • Hotels.com
    AU$99
3.9 km from Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Free parking
Pool
                  view towards lounge from dining room
Booking.com
AU$105
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$100
  • Trip.com
3.8 km from Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$145
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$123
  • Expedia.com
    AU$146
3.1 km from Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$234
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$234
1.8 km from Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$109
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$101
  • Hotels.com
    AU$106
2.8 km from Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$124
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$170
  • Expedia.com
    AU$149
3.9 km from Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$91
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$131
  • Expedia.com
    AU$114
4.1 km from Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Halls Gap
Reviews (1,300)
Filter reviews
1,300 results
Traveller rating
696
362
125
52
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
696
362
125
52
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa room one night stay short drive motel kangaroos grampians accommodation heater
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,300 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2023

What a great accidental find! Called to book a room, and Tania gave clear directions to find Halls Gap.
Found at the end of an amazing drive through the Grampian mountains.
Spacious and comfortable room, restaurant with excellent food and outstanding staff! Everyone is cheerful and goes out of their way to help. Quality local wine at good prices and food beautifully prepared and presented.
So lucky to find this place in a spectacular location!

Room tip: Worth finding this wonderful place.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank edwin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya Davey, General Manager at Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Thank you so much for your review, It was lovely to meet you both.
Kind Regards Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2023 via mobile

It was very cold, around zero. The old heater took ages to heat the place. When trying to make a coffee all 3 of the coffee cups were stained and dirty. In arrival, I was greeted to a towel soaking in the gaping open bar fridge. There was no internet. The bed was low and quite old and not very comfortable. The TV didn't work very well.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya Davey, General Manager at Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

Hi Anne R,

Thank you for finding the time to write this feedback of your stay with us at The Grampians Motel. I'm very sorry to hear that your stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been.

Please rest assured that we have taken your feedback into account, and we are working towards improving standards across the motel as a whole.

Kind regards,
Molly
The Grampians Motel Reception Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2023

The welcome, the kindness shown to a very weary traveller, the concern and care, second to none. “Enter as Strangers, Leave as Friends” is their motto, but I came as a stranger and they treated me as a friend. I had no booking but they made sure I had a bed and the soup I requested was incredible. Don’t be fooled “Rough Diamonds” maybe but “Hearts of Gold”. I would stay again, although I’d book in advance.

Room tip: Book in Advance if at all possible
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rijntje H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
john radford, General Manager at Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2023

it is our pleasure to have been able to accommodate for you. We do hope to welcome you back again soon for a nice relaxing stay that you can enjoy even further with our beautiful views and attractions here in Halls Gap.
Regards
Charlotte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2023 via mobile

This motel is located in the middle of the valley. There’s lot’s of wildlife living just in front of your motel. Like kangaroos and tropical birds. You can feed them and they come towards you. It’s very special to see that happening.

The motel staff are really friendly and they will give you all te information you need to travel around the Halls Gap. The accommodation is very clean and the beds and bathroom are in great condition

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya Davey, General Manager at Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

Hi Tim V,

Thanks for telling us how much you enjoyed your stay with us in Halls Gap! We really are very lucky to have so much incredible wildlife right at our door, and it's a pleasure to be able to share this with other wildlife enthusiasts like yourself.

I do hope we will see you again should you ever find yourself in Halls Gap in the future.

Kind regards,
Molly
The Grampians Motel Reception Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2023 via mobile

We have been here for two days and it was wonderful to be here. The motel staff are very friendly and they will do everything to make yourself comfortable. The motel is located in the middle of Halls Gap with lot's of animals around it. Such as kangaroos and cockatoos. The cockatoos are used to people and they will eat out of your hand.

It was great to be here.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya Davey, General Manager at Grampians Motel & Views Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2023

Hi Bart V,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us Halls Gap. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and got to experience some close encounters with our resident kangaroos and cockatoos.

We hope to see again some time soon!

Kind regards,
Molly
The Grampians Motel Reception Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews