We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$128
Fully refundable before Sat, 25 May
Expedia.com
AU$140
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
AU$90
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jo SB
Melbourne, Australia

Cute little place

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Dec 2023
Great place for a quick getaway in Victoria.

It's 5 minutes drive from Halls Gap, 2 minutes from the Gap Vineyard, and 20 minutes from Grampians National Park.

For the price we paid (which was a bargain), you get what you pay for.

We booked the Queen Room - which offers views of the Grampians Mountains and the motel surrounding. It includes a dining area, microwave, refrigerator and a flat-screen TV. A DVD player and a selection of DVDs are also available from the reception desk on request.

The room was spacious & clean, the bed was comfortable, and the surroundings were peaceful.

Highly recommended!
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$143
  • Agoda.com
    AU$133
  • Hotels.com
    AU$150
2.6 km from Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$128
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
  • Agoda.com
    AU$116
  • Hotels.com
    AU$140
2.7 km from Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$173
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$173
  • Agoda.com
    AU$173
  • Vio.com
    AU$173
2.9 km from Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Overview of park
Booking.com
AU$91
  • Hotels.com
    AU$131
  • Priceline
    AU$99
  • Expedia.com
    AU$114
1.2 km from Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$140
  • Expedia.com
    AU$158
  • Agoda.com
    AU$126
  • Hotels.com
    AU$175
2.7 km from Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Grampians View Cottages & Units
Booking.com
AU$124
  • Hotels.com
    AU$170
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$170
  • Expedia.com
    AU$148
1.3 km from Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
                  view towards lounge from dining room
Booking.com
AU$95
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$95
  • Trip.com
    AU$84
  • Agoda.com
    AU$88
2.7 km from Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$234
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$234
  • Agoda.com
    AU$234
2.9 km from Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$142
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$137
  • Agoda.com
    AU$114
  • Hotels.com
    AU$154
3.9 km from Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$109
  • Hotels.com
    AU$106
  • Agoda.com
    AU$99
  • Trip.com
    AU$106
3.0 km from Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
View more hotels in Halls Gap
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
162
96
33
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
162
96
33
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool short drive spacious grounds halls gap zoo tea coffee bush setting comfortable bed great place to stay stayed nights local wildlife emus motel wifi accommodation microwave bonus walks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2023

What can you say. We had to ask for toilet paper, yes toilet paper, a tea towel, and a sponge(the one there was gross - well used). We were told 5 other rooms also asked for toilet paper. 2 1/2 hrs later, I went to the office to get the toilet paper. Dead flies on the carpet and in the bathroom, fireplace full of old ash which left smoke smell thru the cottage, mould in the grout in the bath, soup scum on the spa jets(obviously not now going to use the spa). But great bed and hot water. Certainly, this place is becoming run down, and the managers reason was -'it's the staffs fault!'. Even the inground pool was black, not green. Funny, one of the Halls Gap locals knows some staff and has a different storey. And to top it off, someone took our firewood and paper on Saturday, so no open fire for us. Think twice before you book this place. Our outdoor BBQ had no grill plate and was very rusty. Certainly not usable.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2023

A spacious, bush setting giving a variety of accommodation options and especially ideal for active families and couples.
Chill on your verandah and enjoy the local wild life or wander the spacious grounds.
Ideally located away from the busy town centre yet only minutes from popular attractions such as the Halls Gap Zoo and Venus Baths.

Room tip: Internet was spasmodic but may be fixed now. Main road can be noisy at times. Neither were a major issue, will we definately return.
Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 May 2023 via mobile

Overnight stay only so not able to comment on too much on property really. Room was large enough with basic facilities like kettle, tea/ coffee, toaster, fridge and microwave. Decent shower but I found the bed quite hard but ok for husband lol. Unit had reverse cycle air con which was nice on a cool night.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nickybC1210CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2023

This is quite a nice property, except that it falsely states that it has free WiFi. Yes, there is a WiFi network but it wasn't connected to the internet. Tried to get this resolved on our first night but reception was closed much earlier than advertised
Tried again the second day, however, no joy. Was promised a visit from "The boss" but no visit occurred. Was offered use of receptions WiFi, however, this couldn't be reached at our lodge.
We wouldn't have stayed here had the owners been honest up front about the lack of WiFi.

Room tip: If you want working WiFi, go somewhere else.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2023

The caveat is that there is a new owner that just took over one week prior so this is mostly for the previous owner, however the new owner didn't seemed to worried about my feed back and issues with his place.
Price wise this accommodation was mid level. I stayed in their 1 bedroom cabin due to needing full kitchen facilities for my daughter and myself. It was quite an old build however the main reason i've rated it so low was that the cleanliness was nowhere close to where it should have been.
The first cabin had a bad odour which smelt like a mouse had died. The new owner didn't care when i told him about it, i had to suggest changing cabins and luckily he had a spare cabin to move us into.
The carpet desperately needed a good steam clean and for some reason there was an ant problem as well.
In the evening with all the doors and windows shut, hundreds of little bugs still managed to get into the place.
The oven was only half size but luckily just fit a small roast into it. The 2 cook top elements could only be used singularly due to being small.
There is no phone signal there and their wifi was only good enough to browse very slowly with considering there were only about a quarter of the accommodations booked.
There isn't anywhere it says that the wood heater has been boarded in but they do have a reverse cycle a/c instead.
I would not book here again and take my chances else where.

Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews