We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indulge yourself”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Boroka Downs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boroka Downs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Indulge yourself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights in one of the Boroka Downs cottages. The cottage had all the features needed to escape the stresses of daily life - privacy, comfort, spa bath to soothe the body and mind, large comfortable bed, kitchen with all the essentials, open plan living with a beautiful view to the mountains, and plenty of wildlife (kangaroos, emus, and colourful birds). The hosts, Bob and Stephanie, gave us a warm welcome and then left us alone to enjoy the peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
141
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Although quite some way out of Halls Gap, this did not detract from the experience in any way. All lodges set in bush surroundings, with close encounters with kangaroos and emus just outside your window, especially early morning. There were also lots of tiny birds which were encouraged with lots of water containers.

I can only describe our accommodation as opulent, with our hosts finding the right balance to make this a very special place to stay. We were in the area only once so wanted to see our surroundings, but equally we could have arrived and just shut ourselves off from the world outside, and just enjoyed the experience.

We had always planned to self cater, and had prepared before arriving, but our hosts had obviously had experience of accommodating those who had come unprepared. Our breakfast provisions far exceeded our requirements, and every conceivable piece of equipment and item you might have wanted was available to make your stay special. This even included your own pair of binoculars to use!

Our hosts also offered a nature walk, which was done by one of their neighbours, where we learned a lot more about our surroundings, and the careful balance between nature and living in this area.

Congratulations Stephanie and Bob for offering such a wonderful experience. If we didn't live the other side of the world we would be back, but can do no more than recommend you here, and whenever else we can.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We have stayed at Boroka Downs three times over the years, it never ceases to delight and provide the rare chance to truly relax and disconnect - we cannot wait for the next time. All the extra touches help make this a truly magical destination.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MattBoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We recently spent 4 days at Boroka Downs for my husbands birthday - what a truly beautiful place! The accomodation is modern and super clean, the local wildlife abundent and the hosts happy to cater for your every need! We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Residence #1 which did not have a view of the Grampians, but enjoyed the lovely morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanSoldini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turners Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Myself and now Husband eloped to Boroka Downs and we could not have wished for anything more perfect, the scenery, the superb room with more than we could have ever needed for our 3 night stay and of course the Wildlife. Stephanie and Bob gave me the hassle free wedding that I wanted and nothing we asked for was too hard!!! We found a real little gem for our wedding and I have been spreading the word since returning home. It is the perfect romantic holiday get away and we will definetly return, maybe for our wedding anniversary!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
3.5 km away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
3.7 km away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
3.8 km away
DULC Cabins
DULC Cabins
#5 of 42 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
1.1 km away
Grampians Pioneer Cottages
Grampians Pioneer Cottages
#4 of 42 in Halls Gap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
5.8 km away
Marwood Villas
Marwood Villas
#8 of 42 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boroka Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boroka Downs

Property: Boroka Downs
Address: 51 Birdswing Road | Grampians, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Halls Gap
Price range (per night): $360 - $516
Hotel Class:5 star — Boroka Downs 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharing the boundary with the Grampians National Park, Boroka Downs offers romantic luxury and superb views with wildlife at your doorstep. Designed specifically for couples each of our 5 identical, environmentally designed residences is secluded and provides award winning luxury and serenity with full self-catering facilities. Plus there's the luxury 2 bedroom Bungalow for 2 couples, tucked away in the property corner. Boroka Downs is Ecotourism accredited and a Tourism Hall of Fame inductee. Five minutes from Halls Gap but a world away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boroka Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boroka Downs Halls Gap, Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing