We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pottsy - Clean, comfortable and oozes relaxation!”
other travellers have booked this property
Warm up next to our gas log fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Warm up next to our gas log fire
King bedroom with bush views to Mt William Range Kitchen opens to dining & lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Warm up next to our gas log fire
King bedroom with bush views to Mt William Range
Kitchen opens to dining & lounge
Outdoor firepit
Dining area
Cook something yummy!
Cockatoos visit on deck
Display cabinet with magazines, toys and more!
Queen bedroom with bush views to Mt William range
Open plan living dining
Wildlife in your doorstep
Spa with bushland views of National Park
Elevated deck with BBQ and outdoor entertaining area
Elk head detail at the end of corridor
The Escarpment floorplan
Kids can reconnect with nature in our backyard!
Native grevillas in flower
Location location location
Stunning High Road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Halls Gap, Grampians, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GlennP169
2 reviews
“Pottsy - Clean, comfortable and oozes relaxation!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

All we needed for relaxing and enjoyable stay was available, quiet location with plenty of the local bird life and wildlife to keep you entertained. Close enough to town to induce a relaxing walk. Ideal for a couple or the family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Couches
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francois...
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very nice house on the shoulder of the Grampians”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a very good time at the Escarpment. This is a very cosy and welcoming house. Everything that you would need is there: Kitchen wise, as well as relaxing (Jacuzzi), and for the kids (Wii, lots of toys). We loved the bedroom too, very nice and comfy beds (firm yet comfy). We also loved the remote yet not-too-far from the Halls Gap's center location. The back garden is open to the mountain so it seems that the whole mountain is yours. Not far from the bike paths, which we didn't take advantage of unfortunately because it was so hot (end of January), but there're there.As was mentioned before, the nice thing in the Grampians is the wild life. We saw lots of Cockatoos, Kookaburras, magpies of course, but also deers, roos and emus. Louise was also very helpful and quick to answer our question, which is always great. Overall, we had a very good time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anastasia...
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“pretty location, few improvements needed”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed with our family of 2 adults and 4 kids. It was raining cats n dogs so we were stuck inside at night mostly.
The good points: great pretty location and veiw from the bath into the bush is beautiful (enjoyed with a glass of wine!). a selection of toys and blocks great for the toddlers and the wii greatly enjoyed by the big kids.
The bad points: very minimal outdoor lighting make nighttime use of BBQ area impossible, the fire pit can only be used with a permit, the house is very small so if it is raining there is no where for the grown ups to have their own space, if you fill the bath it uses all the hot water so it's hours before anyone can shower.
In all I think the property would best suit a couple wanting to use the house as a base for walking adventures, it is good enough but not a spectacular holiday house experience with kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the veiw from the bath
Liked least: lack of outdoor lighting
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2013
Hi again Anastasia

Once again thanks for your direct feedback. As mentioned previously in my email I really do appreciate you bringing these issues to my attention. We are always listening to our guests and improving our properties but sometimes it is hard to supply things just so in a remote location.

Just an update for you since your stay I have had an electrician to replace the sensor light at the front and he installed a switch outside the front door so guests can turn on while at the front door. Regarding the lack of lighting to the top deck area, I also the electrician look into this and due to the risk of electrical fires any wiring would have to be placed 1m under the ground and because the house is built on rock this is a very difficult and expensive project to do. So that why we only have solar lights in this area.

As mentioned the firepit is an interesting issue, we originally put it there as a garden sculpture and then found guest were using it as a firepit. I have spoken to the council since and they have provided me with their latest policy regarding outdoor fires please find outlined below. Outdoor fires need to be restricted in certain months because of our location to the National Park.

Please be aware that lighting fires outdoors can be dangerous and all fires must be attended to at all times. Fires are to be lit ONLY OUTSIDE of the fire protection period which runs from approx 1st November until the 1st of May with weather
permitting.

Regarding the hot water unfortunately we can't put in a instant gas as we don't have gas online in Halls Gap due to our remote location. I was concerned regarding this when 7 (inc a baby) guests were staying at the time as we are really only setup for 6 maximum.

Just as an extra we have just recently installed a second digital TV in the master bedroom to provide extra space for guests to hang out!

Once again thanks for your feedback and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conny s
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing accommodation”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

thank you so much for a relaxing stay at the escarpment. The house was lovely warm to escape cool winter nights. the setting and wildlife is absolute amazing. The house is well appointed and the children enjoyed the variety of toys provided. We highly can recommend this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the little extra touches within the house.
Liked least: Everything was in good condition.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kareen B
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great position and lovely house”
Reviewed 21 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

I took my family away and wanted a comfortable house in a good position. The Escarpment had both these. Short walk to the walking/bike track which then is an easy distance into town and to the start of some of the easier walks. The house is well appointed with great views and privacy. We had a lovely stay and the Gas log fire made it !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2013
Thanks so much Kareen. I am so glad that you got to spend some good "bonding" time with your kids at The Escarpment & in The Grampians!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing