We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet caravan park.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet caravan park.”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Parkgate is clean, tidy, kid friendly and quiet. Great gardens, pools, tennis courts and kids play areas. 3 years running at thus park and love it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttynatty1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    96
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
289
159
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

i agree with all the positive reviews given, however thought i might add some more. firstly, the park itself is well maintained, very clean, (except for the kangaroo poo but that's part of the atmosphere). the pool, tennis courts and jumping pillow are great for all the family!! .the kangaroos are in and around the park every day. the park is very quiet, has views and is situated in a good position, being an easy walk into halls gap and easy turn on or off the highway. the staff were helpful and friendly and we had no problems at all.

we had booked late and all the red cedar cabins were booked out so we stayed in the brick 2 bedroom unit. we were given a good value price for this accommodation so i don't want to complain too much, however to be realistic, these units are really in need of maintenance and refurbishment. the beds were very uncomfortable, pillows too. when we arrived some flyscreens were lying on the ground and when i tried to put them back noticed that the attachments on many windows were broken. so that meant that at night the windows could not be left open and on the 1 windy night we had the screens that were attached flapped and banged all night. all the internal doors squeeked and with 5 people getting up 1-2 times during the first night, we had little sleep. fortunately we had brought the rp7 along so fixed the squeeking problem ourselves.

we booked and paid for accommodation for 5 people, yet there were only four chairs, so 1 person had to stand to share a meal. there was only enough seating in loungeroom for 4 persons. part of the stove did not work. there was a real lack of pots, pans and kitchen utensils for family cooking. the teapot and chopping board need to be replaced. i did mention the flyscreens to managment but surely the cleaning staff should be taking note of these sorts of problems? even in an old unit, the maintenance should be kept up to standard!

on the positive side, our unit had a lovely view and was peaceful and quiet. having a good look around the park i noticed lots of cedar cabins that look much newer and a few in a really good position were numbers 25-28. these were nice looking cabins along the creek side, quiet area, had verandahs and bbq's beside them. however, anywhere in this park would be a good position.

would i stay here again? definately. next time i would book ahead and ask for a renovated cabin with outside table and chairs. although i have descibed the brick units negatively, to be fair, they are old and we were given a very good price and they were basically clean.

this is a terrific family park and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: book ahead and ask for a newer cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victoriaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This resort is right in the heart of the Grampians and close to CBD. Units are modern, clean and the resort has everything you need for your stay. Very quiet and staff friendly.

Room Tip: All units would be suitable as they are not close to one another and plenty of room around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiDi067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Was really impressed with this holiday park. It was clean, well maintained and the staff were fantastic. We will definately stay at this caravan park. We booked a family studio and it was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pengy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My fiancee and I stayed here with a camper trailer while exploring the Halls Gap & Mount Gambier regions. When we arrived (later than expected) we were very nicely greeted by the owners and taken to our camp spot. The grounds were well maintained and tennis courts good to use.

He had our own bathroom with the campsite which was very clean. The owners gave us plenty of helpful local knowledge, especially since many of the roads were closed or required long detours due to floods earlier on in the year. The location of the park was 20minute walk into town. It was the "off season" for a number of touristy places and restaurants, but were able to find things to do in the surrounding district.

The only problem we encountered was horrid weather some of the nights (but hardly anyones fault!), but the days were generally warm and good for hiking.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sa_countryfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
2.5 km away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.6 km away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#7 of 42 in Halls Gap
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park
4.2 km away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
1.4 km away
Halls Gap Gardens Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort

Property: BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort
Address: 2372 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Halls Gap
Price range (per night): $102 - $155
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkgate Resort is nestled in the foothills of the majestic Grampians National Park, and centrally located to Halls Gap. Parkgate offers you quality Cabin & Unit accommodation, Caravan and Ensuite sites and a fantastic family holiday in a safe, inviting and relaxing atmosphere.With a range of accommodation options to suit all budgets and situated in some of nature's most breathtaking scenery, you can be assured of a memorable holiday experience so enjoyable... you'll find it hard to leave.With our mountain backdrop and regular visits from the local wildlife, our accommodation choices will suit every taste and budget. Choose from spa units, one and two bedroom cottage units or our cedar cabins. All are self-contained with fully equipped kitchens, bathroom, heating and television. Come and enjoy some of the splendour that we at Halls Gap are privileged to live with every day. Access to the iconic views, features and walking tracks that make the Grampians special are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Grampians Parkgate Resort Halls Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing