We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet in The Grampians”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap
Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Peace and Quiet in The Grampians”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Halls Gap and The Grampians are a glorious part of the world. This cottage had everything we required. I was just a little annoyed that it is advertised as one bedroom when it is really open plan and a studio layout.

Room Tip: Not applicable as there are four cottages all self contained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    18
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Don't be fooled by the description or by the tricky photography. These cottages are described as one-bedroom but are open plan studio apartments with the bed in the same room as the lounge room. I was very disappointed by this as part of the reason I booked was because I thought we would have a bedroom separate to the main living area. We managed, but sometimes you need a little bit of privacy from your partner in a place other than the bathroom.
The place was very clean and all of the appliances were new, while the king size bed was very comfortable however, the self-described term of 'luxuriously appointed' is a bit of a stretch. The whole cottage is tiled in terracotta, the only couch is an imitation chesterfield, the spa bath is only big enough for one person and the towels were stiff and scratchy. Without a screen door, quite a few insects got in which had to be squished before going to bed if we wanted a peaceful sleep.
If you're in a front cottage, you get a view of the road, if you're in the rear cottages, you get a view of the cottages at the front. There is no private garden area. Our first night there, a neighbour called the police to the report a peeping tom and the caretaker came to the property twice on a very, very loud harley davidson. We also came across quite a few spiders. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MissJane13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gad_about_8, Owner at Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
These are one bedroom cottages! Thats what RACV classified them as when we built them. We offer a money back satisfaction guarantee, if on arrival you have a genuine complaint that cannot be reconciled we return your money no problem. Our cottages are not apartments, apartments come in blocks connected together our cottages are separate and are open plan with one bed.
The 2 person spa is nearly 2 metres long a metre wide and 80cm deep big enough for 2 normal size people, or one really fat person.
Each cottage has 9 screened windows which open, to prop the front door open then complain about bugs coming in is just stupid.
We offer our cottages at prices lower than the caravan park spa cabins in Halls Gap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We found Hetherlie Cottages to be comfortable, clean, and lovely to stay in. Surrounded by beautiful quiet bushlands, but not too far from the main town centre. The rooms were clean and the spa was fanstastic. Big enough for two! The layout was cosy, yet big enough not to have to step over each other. Kitchen was well equipped functional. There was a BBQ but didn't use it. Perhaps there could have been more maps and food/restaurant guides provided, although the cottages are not far from the information centre.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t_sibio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gad_about_8, Owner at Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
Thankyou very much for the review, it has made my day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2010

My partner and i had a wonderful stay at heatherlie cottages, it was clean, quiet, well equipt and relaxing. The bed was soo comfortable and the massive spa bath was soo relaxing. Everything was wonderful and we'll be going back.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycotager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gad_about_8, Owner at Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
Thankyou very much Rosie and Col,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

If you want a quiet hideaway,far from the madding crowd and kids, then this is it. A place to relax after lots of walking and fresh air. The kangaroos and birds are very friendly. Just be careful of the value and quality with the restaurants but the cafes were great.
Rosie and Col

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
2.7 km away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
9.0 km away
Aurora Cottages
Aurora Cottages
#1 of 4 in Pomonal
45 reviews
4.7 km away
Grampians Pioneer Cottages
Grampians Pioneer Cottages
#5 of 42 in Halls Gap
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Halls Gap Valley Lodges
Halls Gap Valley Lodges
#6 of 42 in Halls Gap
117 reviews
2.7 km away
Halls Gap Log Cabins
Halls Gap Log Cabins
#10 of 42 in Halls Gap
82 reviews
1.4 km away
Grampians View Cottages & Units
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap

Property: Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap
Address: 23 Mt Zero rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3380, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Halls Gap
Price range (per night): $143 - $230
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features include:Double spa with a view of gas coal fire,100cm full high definition LCD TV and dvd,Washer/dryer,Fully equipped kitchen, Pod coffee machine, Linen and towels provided,King size 4 poster bed,Chathedral Ceilings,Climate control air conditioning,Individual BBQ, NO CHOCOLATES, NO CHAMPAGNE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing