We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home”
Review of Tim's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halls Gap
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tim's Place
GreenLeadersGold level
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Great place if you are looking for a cosy spot to rest your legs after a full day of hiking. Tim was especially welcoming showing us around the place and places of interest.

Great place for groups and families with a nice little area for dining, catching up and a TV room with a huge flat screen TV. There is also a very well equiped communal kitchen where pots and pans and cutleries are provided.

Close proximity to down town, around 10 mins walk. In the evening, you will be surrounded by wild kangaroos just outside. In the mornings, wild birds come to visit, the Galah and the Parakeets.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squaluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
36
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Having stayed in 8 other budget accommodations in the past 10 days across Tasmania and Victoria, I must say that Tim's Place tops the list for comfort, cleanliness, and friendliness. Tim is very welcoming and friendly, and is quick to offer advice on walks in the area. The entire place is spotless. To top that off, guests have free access to wi-fi, bicycles, and coffee/tea? Truly a great place to stay while in the Halls Gap area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tzetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Tim was very friendly, he even set up the campfire for us! Our two bedroom apartment was clean and very well furnished. Tim had a few great ideas on what to do there and we thoroughly enjoyed our trip! Definitely will stay there again if Im up at the place!

Room Tip: If travelling in a big group, do get the two bedroom apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hashrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I stayed at Tim's Place one night during my very short visit to the Grampians. The room was clean and large enough. The place is just a short walk from the restaurants and shops. Tim his very friendly and he helped me to organize my visit, getting the most out of my very limited time (including warning me about the road closures due to last January floods, pointing out the possible detouring). Free internet is an additional plus.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fviglion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We stayed in the apartment here for 3 nights. It was all good. Plenty of space, clean and well provided for self catering. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect for the Grampians and handy for the town. Free use of laptop, and good range of books and tourist info. We used the free bikes - OK but need a bit of maintenance! We would definitely stay here again. Nice that it is adopting some green technologies. great walks all around. The Brambuk cultural centre is very worthwhile to visit.
John and Joan

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank johnht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halls Gap hotels
2.6 km away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
3.5 km away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
674 reviews
0.5 km away
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
Kookaburra Motor Lodge
#4 of 9 in Halls Gap
252 reviews
0.8 km away
Halls Gap Caravan Park
Halls Gap Caravan Park
#7 of 42 in Halls Gap
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tim's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tim's Place

Property: Tim's Place
Address: 44 Grampians Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Halls Gap
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tim's Place is a Hostel and Apartment venue situated in Halls Gap in the Grampians National Park. Tim's Place has one very comfortable Apartment and 6 rooms in the Hostel section. The Hostel caters for people in shared rooms, single rooms, double and twin rooms, triple rooms, family rooms. One room with an ensuite is available. All rates include free WiFi, free plunger coffee / tea, free bikes and beds made up with linen and doonas, towels supplied. Tim's Place is centrally located for all the walking trails in the Wonderland Area and only 600 metres from the cafes and restaurants in Halls Gap. There is a V Line bus stop is in front of Tim's Place. It is a great palce to stay in the Grampians National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tim's Place Halls Gap, Grampians

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing