We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
trippers_at_large
Adelaide, Australia

Right Near Highway. Easy to Find

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Nov 2019
Old place but perfect for what we needed. Friendly staff, nice linen and towels. If you are a light sleeper it is right next to highway. Easy to get to, we were tired and glad to have somewhere to sleep and we could pull off the road and be on our way easily the next morning. Includes continental breakfast.
Date of stay: November 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Ext view - Great Western Motel
AU$118
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$118
  • Agoda.com
    AU$118
0.0 km from Great Western Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$127
  • Priceline
    AU$127
  • Agoda.com
    AU$127
  • eDreams
    AU$127
12.7 km from Great Western Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$140
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$140
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
  • Hotels.com
    AU$175
12.8 km from Great Western Motel
Free parking
Pool
Room
AU$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$125
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
  • Hotels.com
    AU$125
12.9 km from Great Western Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Comfort Inn Goldfields Restaurant
AU$135
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$135
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
  • Hotels.com
    AU$135
13.1 km from Great Western Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$125
  • Expedia.com
    AU$125
  • Hotels.com
    AU$125
13.1 km from Great Western Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$157
  • Booking.com
    AU$157
  • Priceline
    AU$175
  • Expedia.com
    AU$170
14.5 km from Great Western Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$125
  • Expedia.com
    AU$135
  • Hotels.com
    AU$135
14.3 km from Great Western Motel
Free parking
Sign & External
AU$135
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$135
  • Expedia.com
    AU$138
  • Hotels.com
    AU$134
15.0 km from Great Western Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$132
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$132
  • Hotels.com
    AU$125
  • Expedia.com
    AU$132
15.2 km from Great Western Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Great Western
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
6
15
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
15
1
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2019 via mobile

I'm not sure why they changed the name of this pub to the 'Great Western' all those years ago other the obvious reason, and perhaps a lack of decent English teachers at the local school - 'The Shakespeare' was a lot more evocative and probably more relevant.
We popped in for a meal and parked the van nearby, with the kids lodged in the attached motel accom. The staff were very welcoming, the meals good and cheap and the room pretty basic but clean.
A very country feel, filled with locals on a winters Friday night - always a good sign - wood fires kept parts of the pub warm but in other parts the droughts were as cold as the Carlton Draught. Pool table and juke box were largely ignored but a necessity nevertheless. A meat raffle for the local CFA and lots of talk about the Greater Western Lions ( the Magoo's unbeaten more than 1/2 way through the season ) - lots of rain over the weekend - understandably the locals were in a good mood with the picking finished and the pruning yet to be done.
Country pub, no nonsense, with country hospitality.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bert66XP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

I stayed for a night when I couldn’t get accommodation in Ararat.

The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The bed was fine and everything in the room worked as it should.

I had dinner in the hotel- had to eat in Bar as the dining room was fully booked. The atmosphere in the Bar was fine.

Meal was a good pub meal - I had a T Bone with pepper sauce, vegetables and fries ($30).

Quite an extensive wine list by the glass (all $10/glass). Wine quality was reasonable.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank 838ianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

The food is great at the great Western hotel. A good range of food that is served in a timely manner. Often packed out with patrons so it’s advisable to book a table. Best pub in the region, if staying in Ararat or Stawell this place outshines them all!

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank mattp639
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Travel past but never stop
Hungry wet night monday towing large trailer it had room to park so in we went
Warm cosy wood fired heaters at both ends of the bar
Good meal
Friendly lady serving
I would go again no doubt

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wes b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Great place and as a “city slicker” feel very welcome by the staff and good family environment . Food is very reasonable priced and good quality for the cost and good menu. Bruce behind the bar is great with the kids.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank BRB1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews