We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
wes b
Maroubra, Australia

Cosy little pub on a rainy night

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 July 2018
Travel past but never stop
Hungry wet night monday towing large trailer it had room to park so in we went
Warm cosy wood fired heaters at both ends of the bar
Good meal
Friendly lady serving
I would go again no doubt
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Ext view - Great Western Motel
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.0 km from Great Western Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.1 km from Great Western Motel
    AU$163
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$163
    12.8 km from Great Western Motel
    Free parking
    Pool
    Room
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$125
    • Priceline
    12.9 km from Great Western Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Comfort Inn Goldfields Restaurant
    AU$131
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$131
    13.1 km from Great Western Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    AU$122
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    13.1 km from Great Western Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    AU$147
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$158
    14.5 km from Great Western Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    AU$135
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$135
    14.3 km from Great Western Motel
    Free parking
    Sign & External
    AU$135
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    15.0 km from Great Western Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    AU$115
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    15.2 km from Great Western Motel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Great Western
    Reviews (25)
    Filter reviews
    25 results
    Traveller rating
    6
    15
    1
    1
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    6
    15
    1
    1
    2
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    10 - 15 of 25 reviews
    Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

    Great place and as a “city slicker” feel very welcome by the staff and good family environment . Food is very reasonable priced and good quality for the cost and good menu. Bruce behind the bar is great with the kids.

    Date of stay: March 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank BRB1977
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

    Dropped into the hotel for my evening meal,the sign out the front said the best pub on the highway,and boy they were spot on ,it was fantastic,the service was warm and friendly,typical country pub decor ,cold beer,but what topped it of they served up some of the best pork ribs that you will find

    Date of stay: March 2018
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Thank DennisN55
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 February 2018

    Met up with two other couples as it was a great location between where we all live. We had driven past many times but never stopped. Very pleasantly surprised, food was fabulous with huge servings, staff were friendly and attentive. Was well priced. Will definitely drop in again.

    Date of stay: February 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Bronwyn I
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

    Had a very
    Nice lunch with very good small fisherman’s platter with very fresh salad the
    Publican was very sociable and had done a lot of renovations since he took over in April has put in a really nice modern beef garden we really enjoyed the bisit

    Date of stay: December 2017
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank 979dib
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

    We had heard this little pub was being renovated & the menu too! How disappointed were we. The service was friendly & relaxed however the food choices were very limited unless you liked your food crumbed. If you're a vegan or vegetarian don't bother going. If you are after boutique beer not a lot of choice. This pub is all original & that's it's saving grace. I'm not a fan of stodgy food but this is a country pub that hasn't left the 1980's. That in itself might be worth a visit? Improve the menu & I may be back.

    Date of stay: September 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank loufrancis10
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews