We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Western Motel
Nearby Hotels
Great Western Motel(Great Western)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
3
10
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
10
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscold beerpub foodbrucepublicanhighwaychipararatmelbourne
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

I have stopped of at the Gt Western hotel on a number of occasions .Very friendly and quiet little pub , and very nice meals. Highly recommend and being in the heart of the wine growing area a good place to do a bit of sight seeing.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Cheap accommodation, clean and tidy. Good pub food. Mexican Chicken Salad and a large mini seafood basket! Great publican, service and cold beer Would return. We enjoyed the locally brewed drumborg beer - pity it wasn't on tap.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Jared K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

What a lovely pub!
The pub menu is what pub menus used to be - very generous serves and not so good for your heart! If you have this expectation then you won't be disappointed. Chip the owner makes everyone feel welcome. A great country pub that I look forward to returning to.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank freakstar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

5 of us travelled by V/Line from Melbourne for a day out in the country and we had pre-arranged luncheon at the Great Western Hotel on New Years day. Little did we realise the hotel opened especially for us and for that we the only guests for lunch on that day. When we found out we were very grateful and thanked Chip the hotelier and assistant David for their kindness of opening on New Years day.

Don't expect haute-cuisine, but as pub food goes, and the ambience of the dining room and excellent prices this place ticked most boxes. I enjoyed the bruschetta and the chicken parmigiana was very good and certainly was a filling meal for this big meal eater!

A couple of bottles of Great Western red from Heathcote went down a treat and as we weren't driving we were able to enjoy our long luncheon.

Recommended!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Themikanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We were visiting the area and decided to stay the night.
This may have once been a great hotel/motel.
The room we stayed in was very clean, neat and tidy. There was also a nice touch of complimentary packets of crisps and chocolates.
An electric blanket kept us warm and toasty as this is very cold area. The only issue we had was the noise from the traffic as the hotel is situated right beside the highway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from road if they have one!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews