We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to the hype”

Royal Mail Dining Room
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Dunkeld
Price range: USD 44 - USD 131
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Royal Mail Hotel Dining Room has been awarded '2 hats' by the Age Good Food Guide 2015 & 2016. The Dining Room serves innovative, seasonally driven menu that draws from the extensive organic kitchen garden - reputed as the largest and most productive restaurant kitchen garden in Australia. The Dining Room wine list has been awarded 'Best Hotel Wine List, worldwide, by Fine Wine UK. The cellar houses over 26,000 bottles and wines can be served matched to each course of the five or eight course chefs tasting menus.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lived up to the hype”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Only ate from the bar menu but the corned beef I had was fantastic. My fiance had the whole trout, which was less fantastic owing to the amount of bones (although well cooked). Just going through the main bistro section (which is open so you can watch the cooking and plating up), you can tell it's a properly good restaurant. Service was first class and the view pretty good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gavnfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    71
    61
    45
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Splendid food”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

If you can manage to snag a booking, the restaurant is well worth a visit. We really enjoyed the innovation, surprises and flavours offered in the degustation menu. It wasn't over the top trendy molecular gastronomy being too smart, but offered some clever combinations and enjoyable tastes. We did wonder if three desserts were necessary, having enjoyed the savory dishes like duck , and tomato and daikon, immensely. Wine pairings were well selected and complemented food well.
The bistro menu is a la carte, offered at the other end of the restaurant and offers large serves of delicious local produce, with some local produce specials, like squash soup. Yummy.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank coffeeglutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous staff and food”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We were extremely lucky to get in on a Friday night due to a cancellation. We went with high expectaations and were not disappointed.

The first sight of The Royal Mail, especially at night with their lights twinkling, is a modern retro pleasure. It is built to reflect the curves of the art deco period and perfectly blends with the older part original part of the building. Inside the building, the use of angles,layers and different materials helps absorb the sound and lease the eye.

The wait staff were extremely well informaed and very knowledgeable, they could answer every question we asked about the food, the cooking processes, and wine. They were attentive without being intrusive. Our sparkling water was always topped up.

There is a choice of vegetarian or omnivore degustation menus. We both opted for the omnivore menus and the staff took the time to ensure that there was no shellfish for my partner. I opted for the matched wine option which provided an opportunity to enjoy wine from all over the world which was perfectly matched to the food. My partner is so wonderful that he offered to be the driver, so no matched wine for him, instead so he chose a cider and a French Pinot for later in the meal.

The food was inventive, perfectly seasoned, and wonderfully well balanced flavours (I can provide full menu details if anyone would like the details) which we both thoroughly enjoyed.

We would recommend The Royal Mail to anyone who enjoys great food, wine and service.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FussyVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had the degustation menu and it was absolutely exquisite. Everything was delicious and we were delighted to find that the restaurant was not the slightest bit pretentious. The staff were warm and welcoming. Do yourself a favour and save up for a visit here - it will be one of the best meals of your life.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The bistro and pub were brilliant”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The bistro is outstanding fare here. Decided not to arrange our tripmaround the degustation evenings and were not disappointed. The firs t course of eelmstuffed zucchini flowers was sublime. The lamb was good but the exquisitembaby carrots were sloop memorable, I have been thinking about them since then. Different shapes down to 1 cm size and colours. Covered with little flowers. The whole meal was beautiful.

Next night we dined in the pub which was brilliant value foe money. Excellent food consistent with the whole place. We will go back next year and couldn't be happier than going to both again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Mail Dining Room also viewed

 
Dunkeld, Grampians
 

Been to Royal Mail Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing