We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Whitey65
Melbourne, Australia

Would recommend

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Mar 2024via mobile
Stayed one night (Saturday). Great location on tram line to city, train station in shopping centre next door that has food court anndvplenty of restaurants within walk of hotel. Airport bus also stops at shopping centre. Comfortable bed and pillows. Friendly check in staff. Nice huge heated lap pool on roof of hotel. Would stay here again.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: On tram route to city, train station close by, food court and shopping centre next door, plenty...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Chen, General Manager at The Chen Melbourne - Art Series, responded to this review
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Whitey,

Thank you for the excellent review of our hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Madeleine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$199
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from The Chen Melbourne - Art Series
Free Wifi
Room service
  • eDreams
0.4 km from The Chen Melbourne - Art Series
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.4 km from The Chen Melbourne - Art Series
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$174
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$139
  • Expedia.com
    AU$174
1.0 km from The Chen Melbourne - Art Series
Free Wifi
Fitness centre
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.9 km from The Chen Melbourne - Art Series
Apartment Living
AU$128
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$128
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$128
1.4 km from The Chen Melbourne - Art Series
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$104
  • Priceline
0.3 km from The Chen Melbourne - Art Series
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from The Chen Melbourne - Art Series
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.1 km from The Chen Melbourne - Art Series
  • Agoda.com
1.0 km from The Chen Melbourne - Art Series
View more hotels in Box Hill
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
348
147
40
22
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
348
147
40
22
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool car park room service public transport train station great stay bed was very comfortable mini bar would stay again shopping centre front door convenient location tower parking box hill melbourne
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2024

everything is good, except there is one unpleasant smell in the back of the mattress or around the mattress like the smell of sweat, the waiters are all friendly, but sorry for the cleaning staff, the body odor is really bad, maybe you can tell them to use deodorant lol

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank florentina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Chen, General Manager at The Chen Melbourne - Art Series, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Florentina,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Chen Melbourne - Art Series. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Madeleine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2024 via mobile

Close to public transport, making it accessible to and from Melbourne CBD. Comfortable, clean, and modern room. Balcony view could have been better but no worries. Lovely rooftop pool and BBQ area which we enjoyed to ourselves. Would stay again!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AnnaNZ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Chen, General Manager at The Chen Melbourne - Art Series, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Anna,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Chen Melbourne - Art Series.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Madeleine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2024

The staff were very friendly. The room was very clean, roomy and the bed extremely comfortable. Loved the large shower. Also had a full ironing board and iron, fridge, kettle, fridge and toaster. The Chen is perfectly positioned for public transport, trains, buses and trams. Also very close to shops, Box Hill hospital and Box Hill RSL. Would definitely stay here again.
The staff did forget to let me know that the automatic front doors lock at night and you have to use your swipe card. Arriving back at 9.30pm I couldn’t get in, fortunately I saw someone use their swipe card. (My first time staying in a big city high rise motel).

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DaVVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James David, General Manager at The Chen Melbourne - Art Series, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2024

Dear DaVVale,

Thank You for taking the time to leave a review, and for passing along your recommendation for other readers. Your nice words will certainly be passed along to our staff and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Apologies for overlooking the entrance tip!

Wishing you all the best.
James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

Our room was beautifully furnished, comfortable bed, most services & amenities with the exception of the hotel does not have a restaurant so no breakfast. There is a cafe downstairs however that is quite expensive. The staff were all lovely & very helpful. We would definitely return for a little escape.

Room tip: There is no restaurant on site however many places in the local area to eat.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James David, General Manager at The Chen Melbourne - Art Series, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Dear Sandy,

Thank You for taking the time to leave a review. Your incredibly nice words will certainly be passed along and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Wishing you all the best.

James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2024

Clean. Newly built. Modern design. Comfortable. Close to Chinese restaurants. Reception is professional and clear and friendly and with smile, beautiful smile. Sleep well. I like to open the windows, instead of air-conditioning. My family like the shampoo and handwash brands they use.

Room tip: Listen carefully to the instructions on parking.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James David, General Manager at The Chen Melbourne - Art Series, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2024

Dear Matthew,

Thank You for taking the time to leave a review. Your incredibly nice words will certainly be passed along. Wishing you all the best.

James
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews