We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow service, reheated food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Courthouse Restaurant - CLOSED

The Courthouse Restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
1 review
“Slow service, reheated food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Ignored requests for water, obviously frozen food reheated, flavourless, very slow service, overpriced

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank icemonkey505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Went here with hubby and another couple. The food was great, service was good and staff were friendly and helpful. The owner/manager even joked along with my husband who has a very out there sense of humour. I would certainly go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Please avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I had the pleasure of accompanying Kate R and 4 others to the Indian Restaurant, Saffron at The Courthouse. Kate has pretty much covered our poor experience but the one thing that made me shake my head in disbelief was the way the OWNER handled our justified complaints. She was very angry, refused to acknowledge that her staff had promised one thing but delivered another, for instance when our food was taken away because it was cold they promised to make it fresh, this was not the case. It was only reheated, some beyond recognition! At every turn she disputed our claims, at one point she had the audacity to say she was not in the business to please her customers! All we wanted was for one glass of wine to be taken off the bill as a good will gesture, it had been split due to the table being uneven but this woman was not interested in trying to make our experience in HER establishment one that we would leave with a positive view. Please DO NOT waste your time or money on this awful excuse of a restaurant!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane71Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Once and never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

The service at this place is awful. Most of the food our party ordered was very good but good food alone is not enough to make me want to eat here again.

To start with the cocktails didn't arrive at the same time and weren't served to the right people. Next the starter breads arrived, one person's failed to arrived, and it was then disputed that the order was in fact made - despite a discussion with the waitress about the ingredients of this order. When the main courses arrived, again the dishes were not served at the same time, with such a delay that the meals needed to be reheated. Serving hot food in cold dishes results in food that cools very quickly!
Additionally we had to ask for the rice order twice before it appeared.

Finally simple requests such as a jug of water for the table were denied. Instead water glasses were refilled but the jug not left at the table. Having to repeat the request for more water interrupted the meal and the conversation. Surely a jug of water isn't too much to ask?
There were other issues too, but already this review is lengthy!

Due to the repeated problems we'd experienced, we requested a reduction to the bill, as a gesture of good will. At this point things turned nasty and we paid the bill in full before the police were called. We will not be returning!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Very great atmosphere in a lovely old courthouse. Excellent service and fair priced enjoyable meals.

Helpful?
Thank Katdav1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Courthouse Restaurant also viewed

Berwick, Greater Melbourne
 
Berwick, Greater Melbourne
Berwick, Greater Melbourne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing