We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Puffing Billy Railway
from USD 137.33
More Info
from USD 228.15
More Info
Reviews (1,824)
Filter reviews
1,824 results
Traveller rating
1,123
522
128
32
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,123
522
128
32
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam train train ride belgrave station return journey trestle bridge scones lakeside carriage volunteers engine scenery melbourne coal victoria
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 1,824 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2019

The Puffing Billy Steam train can be described with many adjectives...unique, historical, fun, educational, scenic, beautiful, family oriented, and many more.
The train ride takes you through 5 or more stops including one where they divide the train into two trains so that they can make it up the steepest part of the mountains outside of Melbourne. It is about a 45 minute to 1 hour drive out of the city up in the mountains.
The conductors and all of the train employees were very friendly and entertaining.
The history of the train is very interesting and the ride is so unique with scenery that cannot be seen any other way. The ride was very enjoyable.
It doesn't't matter whether you are alone, with a date or with your whole family - it is appropriate and entertaining for all.
I would say that if you don't visit Puffing Billy while in Melbourne, you have missed out...it is definitely a must-see!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank FrankD895
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2019

Thanks for visiting Puffing Billy Frank. It sounds like a great addition to your Melbourne itinerary and we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your train trip.

We'll be sure to pass on your positive feedback to our supportive team of volunteers and we look forward to welcoming yourself, friends and family back to the railway again soon.

Kind regards,
The Puffing Billy Railway team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2019

20/08/19

It was our first time as whole family to experience this train ride. The tour was great, but the conductors are so rude to us. We can’t fit in one of the carriages so we kindly asked then if we can transfer to another carriage. Then the conductor said no. So we tried to squeeze in. After 10 minutes, new customers came and the conductors let them in another carriage. We asked if we can transfer because we have a senior citizen with us. But they were so rude and told us to stay and gave a bad stare.

What kind of customer service is this?! The worst experience ever.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

Hi Frances,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback.

We would like to learn more about the negative experience you have encountered during the recent visit to Puffing Billy. Please, can you email us at puffing.billy@pbr.org.au for our team to further investigate?

Kind regards, the team at Puffing Billy Railway

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2019

We decided to spend a day on Puffing Billy and have lunch on board, we were not disappointed. The meal was delicious, the staff friendly and efficient. Was a great day out can thoroughly recommend

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank atr525
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Thank you for travelling with us on the Steam & Cuisine Luncheon experience. It sounds like you had a great time travelling with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards, the Puffing Billy Railway team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2019

Overbooked, crowded. Management selling more tickets than you have seats. Bounced of by conductor giving seat preference to tour company, families split up due to lack of room, rubbish service.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Duggy3139
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to bring this to our attention. We are sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable experience travelling with us. Please, can you email puffing.billy@pbr.org.au if you have further concerns you would like the management team to address?

Kind regards, the team at Puffing Billy Railway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2019 via mobile

We did the Belgrave to Lakeside journey. Weather was chilly but nice in the city but freezing on the train so be prepared.

The steam train was everything it should be, lots on stem, train whistles, up hill, down hill and corners to be able to hang out to take great photos.
I suggest sitting facing the station/platform about mid train and to the front of the carriage. That way you get a great view over the high areas, right turns over bridges for photos (on way there) and less chance of someone standing up hanging out the window in all the best vantage spots.

Top marks to all the staff specially since they had to deal with so many people who just don’t like to listen to the rules in place for their safety. The staff are friendly, helpful and definitely add to the experience.

Lakeside station would be an excellent place to stop at in the summer as they have paddle boats on the lake and other water activities so get the first train there and plan to stay the day. My winter stop off unfortunately the model train place was shut but the cafe was nice and it’s long until you head back.

Special mention to all the locals who waved at the train as it goes by.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank de1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Thanks for visiting Puffing Billy. It sounds like you had a great time travelling with us through the Dandenong Ranges. The locals love to wave at our Puffing Billy passengers, as it is an age-old tradition.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the railway again soon.

Kind regards, the Puffing Billy Railway team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews