We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Puffing Billy Railway
from USD 137.33
More Info
from USD 228.15
More Info
Reviews (1,824)
Filter reviews
1,824 results
Traveller rating
1,123
522
128
32
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,123
522
128
32
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam train train ride belgrave station return journey trestle bridge scones lakeside carriage volunteers engine scenery melbourne coal victoria
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 1,824 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2019

We decided to spend a day on Puffing Billy and have lunch on board, we were not disappointed. The meal was delicious, the staff friendly and efficient. Was a great day out can thoroughly recommend

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank atr525
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Thank you for travelling with us on the Steam & Cuisine Luncheon experience. It sounds like you had a great time travelling with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards, the Puffing Billy Railway team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2019

Overbooked, crowded. Management selling more tickets than you have seats. Bounced of by conductor giving seat preference to tour company, families split up due to lack of room, rubbish service.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Duggy3139
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to bring this to our attention. We are sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable experience travelling with us. Please, can you email puffing.billy@pbr.org.au if you have further concerns you would like the management team to address?

Kind regards, the team at Puffing Billy Railway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2019 via mobile

We did the Belgrave to Lakeside journey. Weather was chilly but nice in the city but freezing on the train so be prepared.

The steam train was everything it should be, lots on stem, train whistles, up hill, down hill and corners to be able to hang out to take great photos.
I suggest sitting facing the station/platform about mid train and to the front of the carriage. That way you get a great view over the high areas, right turns over bridges for photos (on way there) and less chance of someone standing up hanging out the window in all the best vantage spots.

Top marks to all the staff specially since they had to deal with so many people who just don’t like to listen to the rules in place for their safety. The staff are friendly, helpful and definitely add to the experience.

Lakeside station would be an excellent place to stop at in the summer as they have paddle boats on the lake and other water activities so get the first train there and plan to stay the day. My winter stop off unfortunately the model train place was shut but the cafe was nice and it’s long until you head back.

Special mention to all the locals who waved at the train as it goes by.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank de1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Thanks for visiting Puffing Billy. It sounds like you had a great time travelling with us through the Dandenong Ranges. The locals love to wave at our Puffing Billy passengers, as it is an age-old tradition.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the railway again soon.

Kind regards, the Puffing Billy Railway team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2019

This is a great day at for everyone , spend a full day and see the Dandong ranges by train ,not just a train an old steam train .

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank neilyboyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2019

Thanks for visiting Puffing Billy Railway and taking the time to send us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Railway again soon.

Kind regards, the team at Puffing Billy Railway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2019

The train is completely open and it’s freezing on a day like today. We stopped at lakeside and the options for food are also limited, the other disappointment is it’s not a tour as such there’s no commentary or guidance and it was extremely crowded on the way home.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank September86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puffing Billy R, Marketing Executive at Puffing Billy Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback. We are currently in the process of reviewing our food options at all stations based on customer feedback. We hope to see you at the railway again soon during the summer months.

Kind regards, the Puffing Billy Railway team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews