We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Charm Cottages a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Charm Cottages
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Country Charm Cottages a great place to stay”
Reviewed 25 January 2011

I have just returned home after a fantasic week-end in historic Beechworth. My accomodation at Country Charm Cottages was just perfect. A quiet yet convenient location not far from the main town area.
Owen and Cheryl are great hosts ensuring their guests are comfortable and providing plenty of information regarding 'must' see attractions in the area.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilsyth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Country Charm Cottages. They were clean and comfortable with all the mod-cons. The town has so much to do and the ice cream shop and lolly shop were to die for!! will definately be going back and will stay even longer next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_Horne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We booked four of the cottages as a group for the Brown Brothers Wine Festival. The cottages were comfortable and had sufficient amenities but we were dissapointed with some of the facilities and didn't feel we got value for our money. There are no views to speak of at all. In fact, there was construction going on around us on two of the days. You have to be very careful which cottage you pick. One of the cottages (Gardenia) lacked a dishwasher and the BBQ was infested with cochroaches and disgusting. This cottage also has very poor TV reception (you won't get any ABC, SBS or TEN channels). The cottages with upstairs rooms were very hot up there and still only have one bathroom so four of you will be sharing one toilet and shower. Some of the cottages had unusable porches due to overgrown plants and whilst they claim you can "wander the gardens" this actually takes about 3 minutes (think of it as four suburban houses on small blocks together) and requires chopping through spider webs. I think it just needs a little TLC (and some money) to bring it up to speed. In the meantime the price sould be dropped.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Austraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Country Charm Cottages, responded to this review, 19 February 2011
This review is totally out of character for our cottages, as evidenced by the comments left in the Guest Books. The reviewers were one of four couples that weekend. A few of the points raised are valid, such as the TV not receiving all channels. Had they rung us we could have solved it in one minute. The TV settings had been altered. The other three couples, part of the same group had a wonderful time.
What's disappointing is we spent 10 minutes with the couple who gave us no indication they were so aggrieved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We have just returned from a trip to Melbourne and booked one night at the Country Charm Swiss Cottages in Beechworth to break up the long drive back home.
This is a fabulous B&B in lovely surroundings and the historic town centre of Beechworth just 5 mins away by car.
Our first impression was that a lot of thought had gone into planning the site with each of the gorgeous cabins spaced a small distance from each other ensuring everyone has peace and quiet.
The cabins are beautifully appointed, spacious and yet cozy. There is a wood fire for the winter months (I would have loved to build a fire as it was quite cold and rainy but there was, as yet, no wood) but there is an electric heater on the wall which warmed up the cabin in no time. Everything was spotlessly clean and the furnishings very comfortable and the bed was extremely comfortable. There was a lovely roomy ensuite with a corner spa and quality toiletries included.
The fridge was loaded with breakfast ingredients for the following morning - cereal, bread, milk, juice, bacon, eggs, tomato, coffee beans and plunger, as well as instant coffee and tea.
We will definately return again and can highly recommend this wonderful accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynCanberraAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
2.1 km away
Beechworth Cottages
Beechworth Cottages
#2 of 15 in Beechworth
150 reviews
1.1 km away
Freeman on Ford B&B
Freeman on Ford B&B
#2 of 14 in Beechworth
488 reviews
0.5 km away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#3 of 14 in Beechworth
534 reviews
1.9 km away
Erindale Guest House
Erindale Guest House
#5 of 14 in Beechworth
157 reviews
0.6 km away
Beechworth Cabins
Beechworth Cabins
#4 of 15 in Beechworth
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Charm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Charm Cottages

Property: Country Charm Cottages
Address: 24 Malakoff Road | Beechworth, Victoria, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Beechworth
Price range (per night): $195 - $220
Hotel Class:4 star — Country Charm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Charm Cottages; A 3 bedroom, purpose built, chalet style cottage,located in a beautiful garden overlooking the famous Beechworth Gorge. Camellia has three bedrooms and sleeps up to 6+ guests. A fold out bed is also available. We can accommodate an infant in a PortaCot (yours or ours) at no additional charge. Fully self contained; we provide all linen and continental breakfast provisions. An open fireplace in Winter and a double spa bath compliment Country Charm Cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Charm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Charm Cottages Beechworth, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing