We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Official Site
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
ExploringLife
Moama, Australia
921218
Cheap. Good shower.
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Feb 2019via mobile
Can't complain when a Twin Room is only $60. Although rooms tiny, minimalist - at least the bathrooms have been done up.
Having said that, for an ancient pub with old beds and mattresses I slept well.
Handy that the bar and restaurant is downstairs and carpark out the back.
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Pool
Booking.com
AU$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$155
  • Vio.com
    AU$139
  • Expedia.com
    AU$155
0.2 km from Tanswell's Commercial Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
AU$156
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$119
  • Hotels.com
    AU$131
1.2 km from Tanswell's Commercial Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Executive King
Booking.com
AU$236
  • Priceline
    AU$235
  • Hotels.com
    AU$216
  • Expedia.com
    AU$236
1.3 km from Tanswell's Commercial Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$167
  • Priceline
    AU$167
  • Hotels.com
    AU$164
  • Expedia.com
    AU$167
1.3 km from Tanswell's Commercial Hotel
Free parking
Outdoor Pool area with lounge chairs and outdoor dining
Booking.com
AU$205
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$205
  • Hotels.com
    AU$267
  • Agoda.com
    AU$205
1.3 km from Tanswell's Commercial Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Beechworth House has a truly Mediterranean climate and feel. Situated in beautifully established gardens just 1.2kms from the town centre. Relax and enjoy the tranquility of this amazing region from the comfort of your private suite. Beechworth House has its own resident award winning chef who will prepare breakfast and a la carte dinners on demand. We also carry out French cooking classes by prior arrangement.
Booking.com
AU$345
  • Agoda.com
    AU$345
  • Vio.com
    AU$345
  • ZenHotels.com
1.3 km from Tanswell's Commercial Hotel
Free Wifi
Carriage Motor Inn Beechworth
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    AU$165
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Tanswell's Commercial Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from Tanswell's Commercial Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
0.5 km from Tanswell's Commercial Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from Tanswell's Commercial Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Beechworth
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
15
8
5
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
15
8
5
7
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2019

Had lunch at the Commercial Hotel a few Sunday's ago. Food was good and the service was friendly The Hotel fits in well with the feel of Beechworth. I was surprised that when I ordered a Sav Blanc for my wife they do not sell it by the glass, But that is only a minor complaint..

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2019

Friendly helpful staff and great food (though a little dear for pub grub), bed was reasonably comfortable but the guest rooms are looking old and tired and they need updating. Shared bathroom facilities but quite clean - again could do with an update as towel racks were broken and hand wash didn't seem to work. we made the mistake of staying over Australia Day weekend so it was very noisy with the bewery next door and music and people partying till late. You get a basic breakfast - cereal and toast - the home made style bread was lovely for toast. Cheap stay, basic but comfortable, you get what you pay for.

Room tip: ask for a room away from the bewery if you want a quieter night. No air conditioning.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Lunch here on a Tuesday, food is expensive and very average, the young girl with purple hair who served us couldn’t have been less interested. She stepped over a fork on the floor four times before the barman picked it up.

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I really felt for the barman in this hotel. Not only was he running the bar, he was doing the accommodation bookings and working in the restaurant. He was friendly and helpful but very busy. The hotel really needs more staff, especially at dinner time. It's school holidays and very busy in the town.

We originally planned on staying two nights but the bed was so terrible that we simply could not stay. There wasn't anyone we could speak to about it in the morning so we simply dropped the key and left. Perhaps if someone had been there we could have asked for a different room with a better bed, but that wasn't the case.

This hotel has so much promise, but falls down badly. The room was small but clean, and although there was no air conditioning there was a fan in the room. Bathrooms were across the hall, also clean and modern. The heat/lights had been removed from the ceiling fitting, very glad it wasn't the middle of winter. We were given bath towels but no hand towels, face washers or a bath mat.

There are NO guest amenities to speak of in this hotel, and I guess their expectation is for residents to be in the bar or restaurant. Not every traveller wants this! There are no bedside tables in the bedroom, and the one reading light on the wall next to the bed did not have a globe in it. There is a "guest lounge" with a shabby broken-down sofa in it, and a television that did not have a remote. One meagre ceiling light meant the room was too dark even for reading a book. The actual original lounge is jammed full of what looked like children's craft supplies, and the balcony was inaccessible. The balcony foyer was enormous, with several locked rooms off it, and could have been an excellent seating/relaxation area.

The so-called continental breakfast was very ordinary. There was a loaf of unsliced bread but no knife, and the coffee was nothing more than Nescafe. The kettle was full, but there was no access to a sink to refill it. Some cereal, no fruit. We had coffee and toast, then left to find a proper breakfast.

It's a shame that the accommodation in this hotel did not live up to its promise of a quaint country pub experience. Very disappointing, despite the price tag.

Room tip: Apparently there is an ensuite room but it's not offered. I believe you have to ask if it's available.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CGTM2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We had a pleasant experience staying at this pub. The room was large and the staff were great. The only issue I had was the cleanliness of the verandahs and the lack of attention to detail eg previous occupants soap still in shower. Having said that the tariff was reasonable and included a free continental breakfast. If you are expecting a five star hotel you will be disappointed but if you are after a cheap country pub stay then you will enjoy this place.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with HP Windows 10
Thank LizzyLeeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews