We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous cycling, scenery, company and wine in beautiful Hawkes Bay.”
Review of Tour de Vines

Tour de Vines
Ranked #1 of 8 Tours in Beechworth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour de Vines offers cycling tours that capture the major highlights of wine & gourmet regions in Australia and overseas. Group guided and self guided tours are available, including our most popular Murray to Mountains Rail Trail tour from Beechworth (in stunning north east Victoria/Australia). The cycling is easy, in small groups with all wine tastings and gourmet meals included.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed every day of our tour de Hawkes Bay.A highlight was the Church Road winery tour and food and wine matching experience with a very knowledgeable winery guide.We appreciated the optional extra rides and the flexibility of our tour guide.The off road trails were fabulous and the small amount of on road cycling, while not quite as pleasant, enabled us to visit interesting wineries. Even a bit of rain didn't dampen our spirits!The coastal scenery was stunning with vineyards backed by the ocean and the dramatic backdrop of Cape Kidnappers.Group dinners and wine tastings with our fellow cyclists were lots of fun. We kept our bikes for an extra day at the conclusion of the tour to explore the lovely city of Napier. The pohutakowa trees in full bloom were stunning. December is a great time to visit.We hope to be back in NZ for more cycling soon.

Date of experience: December 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"food and wine"
in 16 reviews
"great weekend"
in 14 reviews
"beautiful countryside"
in 10 reviews
"rail trail"
in 19 reviews
"self guided"
in 16 reviews
"clare valley"
in 6 reviews
"new zealand"
in 8 reviews
"great taste"
in 6 reviews
"easy riding"
in 5 reviews
"bike ride"
in 9 reviews
"brown brothers winery"
in 6 reviews
"hawkes bay"
in 3 reviews
"great group"
in 4 reviews
"great accommodation"
in 3 reviews
"perfect weather"
in 3 reviews
"riesling trail"
in 3 reviews
"great cycling"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great cycling tour through pretty countryside. This tour was all about the wine and food of the region. It was well run, the bikes were new and well maintained. The wine and food experiences were many and varied. We ended up doing about 50 ks per day on pretty flat gravel and quiet road tracks. Like all these type of tours you need a few practice ks in your legs before you start so you can enjoy the tour experience and not be worried about riding or being worn out at the end of each day. This was out third Tour de Vines riding tour and once again we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Date of experience: December 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Cruiser18575691231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect 3 days with great company, beautiful scenery with enjoyable wine tastings and nice food. The cycling just tops it off.

Date of experience: December 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank angelomourikis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2018

This was such a great day out! I haven't cycled for years but with my millennial confidence that nothing could be *that* difficult, I booked it for my boyfriend (a real bicycle person) and myself. We were greeted by the very friendly Bernard who set us up with bikes, helmets and directions. There's about 10 minutes of uphill and quite a bit of downhill at the beginning and after that all flat. I won't say I wasn't sore the next day, but we raced through and you could easily go slower and still see all the places - we were early to everything haha. The scenery and all the stops are just gorgeous. The tour is such a beautiful way to experience this amazing area. All the owners/managers/store people are so friendly and welcoming. It was no surprise that we passed so many people on bicycles doing similar cycle/eat/drink tours (both guided and self-guided). The thing that I loved most about this tour was that everything is included and all the bookings are made for you. And that lift back to Beechworth was very appreciated at the end of a long day.I highly recommend bringing a small backpack for your wallet, phone, maps, etc! (and put sunscreen on before you set off!)

Date of experience: December 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank GoPlaces15699475550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

The self-guided tour is exactly as advertised: "a brilliant cycling tour that captures the major highlights of Beechworth and the Milawa wine and gourmet food region." Good fun, delicious stops and really well organized.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tour de Vines also viewed

 

Been to Tour de Vines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing