We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NZ South Island - Great taste tour”
Review of Tour de Vines

Tour de Vines
Ranked #1 of 8 Tours in Beechworth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour de Vines offers cycling tours that capture the major highlights of wine & gourmet regions in Australia and overseas. Group guided and self guided tours are available, including our most popular Murray to Mountains Rail Trail tour from Beechworth (in stunning north east Victoria/Australia). The cycling is easy, in small groups with all wine tastings and gourmet meals included.
Reviewed 9 November 2018

We have just returned from our first cycling tour holiday. We chose New Zealand and weren't disappointed. I was concerned about the cycling level needed but I shouldn't have. The one day I felt I couldn't cycle further , I just hopped into the support Van and got back slightly earlier for wine!

The tour lived up to its title , the food was consistently of a very high standard , the wineries welcoming and varied. We stopped often at bakeries , cafes, wineries, restaurants. - and lets not forget the picnic by the river , with Sean's (he claimed fame ) fruit cake !

The scenery is spectacular , mountains , bays, rivers , rolling hills .

Accommodation was excellent , and a big thank you to Wayne at Mapua on the water for the hot tub ! Also to Carol at Snowball Manor who provided us transport to the restaurant - The Villa (recommended) and a delicious breakfast .

Hard to say what was best about the trip , we had a great group , all couples , all good company.

Thanks to Sean for guiding us , I am a hard task master but he took everything in his stride !

If you are dithering about doing a trip - don't!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank rachaelkjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian C, Owner at Tour de Vines, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

What a fantastic review, thanks so much for taking the time to provide your feedback and we are celebrating in the office today. We have put a lot of time and effort into the itinerary on the Great Taste trail and it's so pleasing that you and our guests love what we have worked hard to provide. We want all our tours to be amazing, so thank you for your lovely feedback.

Now you have done your first tour, time for another!! We'd love to have you back as a repeat VIP on any of our tours, perhaps Victoria or Sth Australia or what about Asia, France or Croatia??

Thanks again and keep up the cycling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"food and wine"
in 16 reviews
"great weekend"
in 14 reviews
"beautiful countryside"
in 10 reviews
"rail trail"
in 19 reviews
"self guided"
in 16 reviews
"clare valley"
in 6 reviews
"new zealand"
in 8 reviews
"great taste"
in 6 reviews
"easy riding"
in 5 reviews
"bike ride"
in 9 reviews
"brown brothers winery"
in 6 reviews
"hawkes bay"
in 3 reviews
"great group"
in 4 reviews
"great accommodation"
in 3 reviews
"perfect weather"
in 3 reviews
"riesling trail"
in 3 reviews
"great cycling"
in 3 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2018

Date of experience: November 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Just completed two day cycle Beechworth to Bright.
Easy cycling, lovely scenery, good accommodation in Beachworth though found accommodation in Myrtelford was a little noisy and though the huge window was great it left very little privacy, so blind needed to be down. Our guide Penny was gorgeous, well informed and very friendly. Thank you Tour devines

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 278Maz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian C, Owner at Tour de Vines, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thanks for posting a review, and we are so happy you enjoyed your weekend cycling with Tour de Vines. We work very hard to put together tours that are fun, easy to enjoy and have you relaxed and loving life! We very much appreciate your comments re the 2nd night accommodation and have asked the venue for the room number and if we can avoid that particular room in the future.

Thanks again and hopefully we see you again on one of our tours in South Australia, NZ, Asia or perhaps France or Croatia!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

Date of experience: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian C, Owner at Tour de Vines, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Date of experience: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian C, Owner at Tour de Vines, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tour de Vines also viewed

 

Been to Tour de Vines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing