We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gabby M
Melbourne, Australia

Great family accommodation on Lake Sambell

Review of Lakeside Chalet
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Apr 2024via mobile
Perfectly located on Lake Sambell just a short stroll to town. Our big family booked out both the chalet and studio and really enjoyed our stay.
Heidi and Jim made sure all our needs were met. Breakfast provisions, robes and slippers for all guests. It was great and we will continue to return for our annual family trip 😊
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: If the weather is warm take your bathers, inflatables and stand up paddle boards for a frolick in...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Trip.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
0.5 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive King
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$233
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ah Yett Cottage Open Plan Living (Drummond & Ingram Cottages are identical)
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free parking
Bar area
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$109
  • Official Site
    AU$95
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$100
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$100
  • Hotels.com
    AU$95
  • Expedia.com
    AU$96
0.8 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.3 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Beechworth
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
97
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
97
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood fire extended family upstairs and downstairs excellent quality linen catch up group of friends comfortable beds local information your doorstep walking distance night stay the main street studio jim bbq accommodation town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2024

Beautiful building inside and out. I would love to book again for all the family and friends. Hosts Heidi and Jim so helpful and wonderful to talk to. My family love staying here as my house only has one bedroom. Booking in here is wonderful as we love the atmosphere and the views are wonderful.

Room tip: Don't waste your time looking for another place to stay this is it with beautiful views and the Chalet is a lovely place to stay.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank josephinecI3881HA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2023

We have stayed here a number of times before. The house is wonderful. The beds are amazing, linen is divine and kitchen is fully equipped for all kinds of cooking. It is such a lovely place to stay and it has beautiful views of the lake. The hosts are very generous and accommodating. We will be back.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mel123321ABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heidi Freeman, Owner at Lakeside Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2023

Dear Mel, we really appreciate the amount of times you have booked and we are grateful that your two families are able to catch up and reconnect between ACT and Melb annually. It is our pleasure to deal with such charming guests. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2023

We went away with family to catch up, great halfway destination between Canberra and Ballarat. We had 6 adults and two small children who all had a fantastic time. Lots of things showed our hosts went the extra mile, with breakfast things provided and extra towels. House was very tidy and the beds comfortable.

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sagraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 December 2022

Visited with our friends celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary with our friends celebrating their 30th wedding anniversary. We were very thoughtfully welcomed by our hosts with a bottle of champagne to help kick off the celebrations. Lovely house in a great location overlooking the lake. Fully equipped clean and comfortable home with breakfast provisions provided. Love to visit again.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Connector482165
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heidi Freeman, Owner at Lakeside Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2022

Dear A, thank you for your lovely review! That is the least we could do. We were amazed to see the house so spotlessly clean after you left and wondered if you had been there at all as it was so immaculate. Thank you for your support and praise as it means a lot for small businesses. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2022

We hired the chalet and the studio given that we were three families (6 adults, three children and a baby).
The chalet is very nicely decorated and has a magnificent view from the lower and upper levels to the lake and mountains. Everything you need is there and there is plenty of cutlery and crockery for a big number of people. The table in the dining room accommodated the nine of us. There is also a very nice backyard and a bbq and table to dine in the open.
Milk, bread and butter were left in the fridge as well as all cleaning products and coffee, sugar, and more.
The chalet has a fireplace that warms up the two floors and there was hardly any need to turn on any other form of heating.
The location is superb. Walking distance to the centre of the Beechworth, an outdoor gym, a playground and many of the walks.
We were given a lot of information about businesses and activities to do in the week that we stayed.
In the weeks before we arrived, I sent a few emails asking for additional information and I always received a quick and thorough answer.
Thanks Heidy and Jim

Date of stay: September 2022
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heidi Freeman, Owner at Lakeside Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2022

THANKYOU so much Rita for your thorough review. We really appreciate having such easy going guests and we are so happy we could oblige. We look forward to seeing you back again and we have to agree with you that the views are to die for. We turned the house into accommodation as the views of the lake are so uplifting and the nature walks near by, a very good for the soul. I am glad the information provided was useful; we try hard to make guests informed so as not to waste precious time while planning. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews