We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sagraw
Ballarat, Australia
Great location and generous hosts!
Review of Lakeside Chalet
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 May 2023
We went away with family to catch up, great halfway destination between Canberra and Ballarat. We had 6 adults and two small children who all had a fantastic time. Lots of things showed our hosts went the extra mile, with breakfast things provided and extra towels. House was very tidy and the beds comfortable.
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$167
  • Priceline
    AU$167
  • Expedia.com
    AU$162
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
0.7 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$155
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$155
  • Vio.com
    AU$139
  • Hotels.com
    AU$155
0.4 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bar area
Hotels.com
AU$108
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$109
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$165
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
  • Priceline
    AU$165
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
0.8 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    AU$206
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$116
  • eDreams
1.0 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free parking
Pool
Our beautifully renovated Premier room featuring a luxe pillowtop king size bed, premium linen, starlink, 50`Smart TV, writing desk, coffee machine and a private ensuite.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$187
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free Wifi
Free parking
Carriage Motor Inn Beechworth
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$165
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$175
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$189
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Lakeside Chalet
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Beechworth
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
97
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
97
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood fire extended family upstairs and downstairs excellent quality linen catch up group of friends comfortable beds local information your doorstep walking distance night stay the main street studio jim bbq accommodation town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2022

Visited with our friends celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary with our friends celebrating their 30th wedding anniversary. We were very thoughtfully welcomed by our hosts with a bottle of champagne to help kick off the celebrations. Lovely house in a great location overlooking the lake. Fully equipped clean and comfortable home with breakfast provisions provided. Love to visit again.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Connector482165
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heidi Freeman, Owner at Lakeside Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2022

Dear A, thank you for your lovely review! That is the least we could do. We were amazed to see the house so spotlessly clean after you left and wondered if you had been there at all as it was so immaculate. Thank you for your support and praise as it means a lot for small businesses. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2022

We hired the chalet and the studio given that we were three families (6 adults, three children and a baby).
The chalet is very nicely decorated and has a magnificent view from the lower and upper levels to the lake and mountains. Everything you need is there and there is plenty of cutlery and crockery for a big number of people. The table in the dining room accommodated the nine of us. There is also a very nice backyard and a bbq and table to dine in the open.
Milk, bread and butter were left in the fridge as well as all cleaning products and coffee, sugar, and more.
The chalet has a fireplace that warms up the two floors and there was hardly any need to turn on any other form of heating.
The location is superb. Walking distance to the centre of the Beechworth, an outdoor gym, a playground and many of the walks.
We were given a lot of information about businesses and activities to do in the week that we stayed.
In the weeks before we arrived, I sent a few emails asking for additional information and I always received a quick and thorough answer.
Thanks Heidy and Jim

Date of stay: September 2022
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heidi Freeman, Owner at Lakeside Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2022

THANKYOU so much Rita for your thorough review. We really appreciate having such easy going guests and we are so happy we could oblige. We look forward to seeing you back again and we have to agree with you that the views are to die for. We turned the house into accommodation as the views of the lake are so uplifting and the nature walks near by, a very good for the soul. I am glad the information provided was useful; we try hard to make guests informed so as not to waste precious time while planning. xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2022

Beechworth is really such a lovely place so i strongly recommend everybody to visit this place specially lakeside chalet. The house we stayed has a fantastic view by the lake. The kitchen is very well equipt and the house is very clean.

Paul, Daryl and I had a really lovely time staying and visiting this lovely place so we thank Heidi and Jimmy for showing us around town and giving us a good accomodtion. We are so looking forward to come back in this lovely place.

Room tip: We stayed at the lakeside chalet and its very quite
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulOshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 June 2022

What excellent service from our booking to departure. Heidi and Jim provided very useful local information before our arrival.
The studio is wonderfully situated next to the lake and was warm and cosy and had every amenity provided that you could wish for , comfortable beds, quality linens , beautiful bathrobes and unexpected breakfast provisions.
A short walk around the lake is a must and a stroll to the main street for cafes and shopping. A great place to stay in Beechworth

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jacquiw601
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2022 via mobile

Neat studio with plenty of room. Very clean and tidy. Comfortable beds and nice modern studio. Even had milk bread and butter in the fridge for our arrival. Nice quiet location and handy to everything with the lake on your doorstep. Nice grounds and undercover outdoor area and BBQ.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Journey34385709610
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews