We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Stay50104264421
Good, old fashioned charming hospitality
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Nov 2018
Steve and Eileen are warm, welcoming and informative hosts who shares their historic home generously with their guests. From the welcoming email I received after booking with a useful suggestion to book dinner on a long weekend with suggestied restaurant details until our we said goodbye, we felt at home. The breakfasts were delicious and our room, the Edward retreat was comfortable for the 2 nights we spent there. It reminded me of my mum's home from a bygone era. Very charming.
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$114
  • Expedia.com
    AU$143
0.8 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$260
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$179
  • Expedia.com
    AU$227
1.0 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cozy
Official Site
AU$180
No prepayment needed
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$175
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$175
1.0 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$167
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$162
  • Agoda.com
    AU$167
1.4 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$155
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$155
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$155
0.5 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Carriage Motor Inn Beechworth
Booking.com
AU$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$165
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
0.9 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive King
Booking.com
AU$208
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    AU$154
  • Expedia.com
    AU$182
1.8 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bar area
Expedia.com
AU$109
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$108
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$194
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$216
  • Agoda.com
    AU$194
1.9 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Beechworth
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
247
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
247
10
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2018

This delightful Bed & Breakfast owned & operated by Eileen & Steve, an engaging couple who know the area & are happy to recommend restaurants & local attractions. Eileen also delights in creating absolutely scrumptious breakfasts.

Room tip: all rooms are excellent
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2018

This is a lovely B&B in a bucolic setting with meticulously maintained house and garden. Hosts Steve and Eileen are warm and helpful, and served a fabulous breakfast in their beautiful kitchen and conservatory. Our room was quiet and comfortable, with lovely original french doors opening onto a private porch and the garden. A very relaxing stay.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Docshox
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen W, Owner at Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We enjoy meeting and getting to know our lovely guests (only the nicest people stay at Barnsley House) and pleased that you enjoyed your few days in our "graceful old lady" historic home. We love sharing her with visitors. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,
Steve & Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

The moment you enter the front door you immediately feel at home. The hosts welcome
like a member of the family. The breakfasts are really delicious room extremely comfortable and very well maintained

Room tip: A fabulous B&B
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Olive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We stayed for a few days and cannot fault it. From our arrival to deparature we were made feel at home. Such pride and care in all areas is what you get from a stay here..to the gardens, the delicious breakfast, the chats, the decor, the history etc. It is an outstanding place to stay. Come along you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angeltripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen W, Owner at Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review. So pleased you loved our "graceful old lady" (born 1859) as much as we do.
Regards, Steve & Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Early March we stayed here one night on a stopover to back to Melbourne for a little romantic getaway. Beautiful house and gardens. Room was perfect and had everything we needed (including a spa bath which was great!). Ten out of ten for cleanliness. Steve and Eileen were wonderfully, friendly hosts and couldn’t have made us feel more welcome. Breakfast was amazing and hosts were very accimodating. It's been the best B&B I've come across. I highly recommend it.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen W, Owner at Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Many thanks Ric! We really appreciate the "best B&B" rating. Best regards, Steve & Eileen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews