We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Gary A
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Impeccably kept property with amazing breakfasts
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 May 2018
This delightful Bed & Breakfast owned & operated by Eileen & Steve, an engaging couple who know the area & are happy to recommend restaurants & local attractions. Eileen also delights in creating absolutely scrumptious breakfasts.
Date of stay: May 2018
Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
AU$124
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$127
  • Agoda.com
    AU$120
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Pool
Pool
Booking.com
AU$165
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$165
  • ZenHotels.com
0.5 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cozy
Official Site
AU$180
No prepayment needed
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive King
Booking.com
AU$208
  • Expedia.com
    AU$182
  • Official Site
    AU$154
  • Hotels.com
    AU$187
1.8 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$310
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$310
  • eDreams
    AU$310
0.7 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Restaurant
Carriage Motor Inn Beechworth
Booking.com
AU$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$165
0.9 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Beechworth House has a truly Mediterranean climate and feel. Situated in beautifully established gardens just 1.2kms from the town centre. Relax and enjoy the tranquility of this amazing region from the comfort of your private suite. Beechworth House has its own resident award winning chef who will prepare breakfast and a la carte dinners on demand. We also carry out French cooking classes by prior arrangement.
Booking.com
AU$355
  • Agoda.com
    AU$355
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
1.0 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Pool area with lounge chairs and outdoor dining
Booking.com
AU$194
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$216
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$194
1.9 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$175
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$175
  • eDreams
    AU$175
0.5 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$271
  • Agoda.com
    AU$271
  • eDreams
    AU$271
  • Vio.com
10.4 km from Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Beechworth
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
247
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
247
10
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2018

This is a lovely B&B in a bucolic setting with meticulously maintained house and garden. Hosts Steve and Eileen are warm and helpful, and served a fabulous breakfast in their beautiful kitchen and conservatory. Our room was quiet and comfortable, with lovely original french doors opening onto a private porch and the garden. A very relaxing stay.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Docshox
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen W, Owner at Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We enjoy meeting and getting to know our lovely guests (only the nicest people stay at Barnsley House) and pleased that you enjoyed your few days in our "graceful old lady" historic home. We love sharing her with visitors. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,
Steve & Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

The moment you enter the front door you immediately feel at home. The hosts welcome
like a member of the family. The breakfasts are really delicious room extremely comfortable and very well maintained

Room tip: A fabulous B&B
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Olive D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We stayed for a few days and cannot fault it. From our arrival to deparature we were made feel at home. Such pride and care in all areas is what you get from a stay here..to the gardens, the delicious breakfast, the chats, the decor, the history etc. It is an outstanding place to stay. Come along you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angeltripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen W, Owner at Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review. So pleased you loved our "graceful old lady" (born 1859) as much as we do.
Regards, Steve & Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Early March we stayed here one night on a stopover to back to Melbourne for a little romantic getaway. Beautiful house and gardens. Room was perfect and had everything we needed (including a spa bath which was great!). Ten out of ten for cleanliness. Steve and Eileen were wonderfully, friendly hosts and couldn’t have made us feel more welcome. Breakfast was amazing and hosts were very accimodating. It's been the best B&B I've come across. I highly recommend it.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen W, Owner at Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Many thanks Ric! We really appreciate the "best B&B" rating. Best regards, Steve & Eileen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

Barnsley House is a must to stay at if want a B&B with a relaxing experience, excellent service and if you like old-world charm. The house is a beautiful Victorian style home with history and is looked after by hosts that have attention to detail and who have a passion for what they do. Eileen and Steve were gracious hosts who catered to our needs, with not only a high level of service - with a smile - but who delighted in preparing a delicious breakfast, as well as providing charming conversation. Excellent service began upon arrival where we were greeted with cake, scones and tea. The amenities were excellent with slippers, gowns, hairdryers, toiletries, towels/face-washers, extra pillows, TV, air-condition, games, DVDs, books etc provided. The shower was great with plenty of hot water (always important) and a large shower head - which was lovely. The room and house was spotless and charming, and we had a gorgeous room with French doors leading out to a beautiful garden that was tranquil (the Edwardian room), and a delight to walk through and look at. My favourite was the conservatory, however, I also loved the guest lounge where you could play chess or backgammon and enjoy complimentary sherry or port. There is also a big TV in the lounge as well as the bedrooms. It is centrally located but away from the main street, which makes it a peaceful and quiet location. It is also an interesting location in that it is right near the gorge where miners used to search for gold. Top marks and we would return if visiting Beechworth again. Claudia and Sandor

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ClaudiaI1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen W, Owner at Barnsley House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thank you for choosing to spend a few days at Barnsley House. It was a delight to meet you and Sandor and hear about your recent trip to Italy. Spending time in our beautiful region after the rush of the school holidays is a great decision and we're pleased that you had lots of relax time whilst exploring Beechworth and beyond. We look forward to seeing you again as soon as you feel the need for another break.:)
Steve & Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews