We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$271
Breakfast included
Agoda.com
AU$271
Breakfast included
No booking fees
eDreams
AU$271
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Mark C
Cosy quiet and snggly place
Review of Colby Cottages
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 July 2018via mobile
If you are looking for a romantic get away for 2 in the country I would highly recommend Colby Cottages. Situated about 10mins drive out of Beechworth it is set off the road in a very rural location. You have the choice of 3 cottages 2 of which are for couples 1 for families. We chose the miners cottage. Its a quaint studio cabin done up as a miners cottage of a bygone era. It has all the mod conns you need including a spa and cosy wood fire place. Its the perfect place to just snuggle up on cold winter days and nights. The owners Andrew and Glenda made you feel welcome and nothing was to much trouble for them from providing extra fire wood to help geetting the miners oven to work.

If your looking for that romatic weekend in the hills, as Molly would say, "do yourself a favor " and go stay at Colby Cottages.
Date of stay: July 2018
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Executive King
Booking.com
AU$208
  • Priceline
    AU$208
  • Official Site
    AU$154
  • Hotels.com
    AU$187
8.7 km from Colby Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$260
  • Expedia.com
    AU$227
  • Agoda.com
    AU$179
  • Priceline
    AU$260
9.5 km from Colby Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$167
  • Priceline
    AU$167
  • Expedia.com
    AU$162
  • Hotels.com
    AU$164
9.2 km from Colby Cottages
Free parking
Cozy
Official Site
AU$180
No prepayment needed
  • eDreams
9.8 km from Colby Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Carriage Motor Inn Beechworth
Booking.com
AU$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
  • Priceline
    AU$165
9.7 km from Colby Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$189
  • Agoda.com
    AU$112
  • Expedia.com
    AU$143
10.4 km from Colby Cottages
Free parking
Pool
Outdoor Pool area with lounge chairs and outdoor dining
Booking.com
AU$194
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$216
  • Priceline
    AU$194
  • Agoda.com
    AU$194
8.8 km from Colby Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$155
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$155
  • Vio.com
    AU$139
  • Priceline
    AU$155
9.9 km from Colby Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$175
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
  • Priceline
    AU$175
11.2 km from Colby Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
AU$108
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$109
  • Vio.com
    AU$108
9.9 km from Colby Cottages
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Beechworth
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
23
1
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
23
1
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

My husband and I stayed in the Miners Cottage last weekend and had the best time. The accommodation was excellent. Best comfort, best couples spa, best shower, best everything. Anyone wanting an amazing, private, relaxing escape then this is the place for you. Birds singing, rabbits grazing, bees buzzing, nature all around. Keep up the great work Colby.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Quiet, picturesque with pre 1940 decor. Perfect for wedding nights or special occasions. We spent the last two nights of our nine day trip th Beechworth and the high country. Even our small dog was caterred for, dog owners take note. The decor is superb and the owners had thought of everything in this wonderful B&B. Ask for the miners cottage when you book.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Beautifully quiet and relaxing. Excellent place for a weekend away. We stayed in the Captains Cottage & loved it; small, cosy, comfortable bed, great shower. Loved sitting on the verandah overlooking the dam, watching the sun set. Situated between Beechworth & Yackandandah, there is plenty to do if you want activity. We would be very happy to return for another visit.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 44JanM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew M, Owner at Colby Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thank you Jan for your glowing comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the sunsets as that is why I built the back verandahs on the cottages. I hope we get to meet another time, kind regards Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We stayed 5 nights in the 3 bedroom cottage and it suited our family well. Amazing workmanship to craft a home out old fittings and fixtures and blend with modern conveniences. Warm, cozy and very relaxing after a day of hiking or riding. Peaceful rural surrounds. Great hosts too. Want to go back to Beechworth to explore more in the future and would stay again and without hesitation.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 113wanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew M, Owner at Colby Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2016

Thank you very much for allowing us to help you enjoy your visit to Beechworth guys. It was a pleasure to host such a lovely and diverse group and we would not have known you had been but the breakfast provisions were gone. Hope we see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We wanted a weekend getaway, away from the Melbourne life, and somewhere which would allow our loving dogs, something with old charm and still modern amenities. Colby Cottages delivered on all of this and more. We stayed in the miners cottage, and we loved it. It had all that we wanted, the fire place was great and easy to use, breakfast items for the morning were provided, the hospitality of Andrew was amazing - touching base before we arrived for our first night to ensure the cottage would be warmed up for our arrival, and then being available if we needed it ensuring we got all the privacy we would want. Beechworth, only minutes away was a great place to visit, and so many trails to hike with our fur babies. Would highly recommend Colby Cottages for a night, a weekend, or longer.

Room tip: Miners cottage is perfect for couples
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christophe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew M, Owner at Colby Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2016

Thank you Christophe for your glowing comments and we are thrilled to see that you were happy with our efforts to make yours an enjoyable stay. Hope you return again and thank you also for your leaving the cottage so neat and tidy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews