We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
chloet64
Dandenong, Australia
Gothic old Hotel close to the town
Review of The Old Priory
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Feb 2024
This hotel is rather gothic and has a certain kind of charm. It is a few minutes walk from the centre of town and a variety of cafes and restaurants.
Don't expect anything fancy. Our upstairs room was very sparse and basic. No cupboards (or anyhting to hang your clothes on or TV, kettle or a fridge. The room was very small and contained one double bed and a bunkbed (it would have been very crowded if we had had 2 more people in the room!) and one powerpoint. However the Wifi was very good. Shared bathrooms are down a very long hallway which I found very spooky at night. There is a large kitchen area in the basement with a microwave, toaster, fridge and kettle and where you can help yourself to a basic breakfast of cereal, toast and tea.
There are a lot of stairs and they are very steep. So if you have any mobility issues or are elderly I would recommend booking a downstairs room.
There was no airconditioning. Just a fan in our room. So luckily the weather wasn't too hot during our visit! I can imagine that it would be freezing during the winter months.
I can't comment on the management because we never saw them: our keys were left to be collected on a sideboard in an envelope with our names written on them in the foyer entrance.
Overall we enjoyed our three day stay at this hotel. But considering the price of the room they could do a few upgrades and renovations!
Date of stay: December 2023
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$203
  • Hotels.com
    AU$233
  • Expedia.com
    AU$242
  • Priceline
0.6 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cozy
Official Site
AU$180
No prepayment needed
  • eDreams
0.3 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$175
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
  • Priceline
    AU$175
1.2 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our beautifully renovated Premier room featuring a luxe pillowtop king size bed, premium linen, starlink, 50`Smart TV, writing desk, coffee machine and a private ensuite.
Booking.com
AU$208
  • Expedia.com
    AU$182
  • Official Site
    AU$154
  • Priceline
    AU$208
1.4 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Carriage Motor Inn Beechworth
Booking.com
AU$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
  • Priceline
    AU$165
0.4 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$189
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$119
  • Agoda.com
    AU$111
  • Hotels.com
    AU$116
1.4 km from The Old Priory
Free parking
Pool
Pool
Booking.com
AU$155
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$155
  • Hotels.com
    AU$155
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$155
0.4 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bar area
Hotels.com
AU$108
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$109
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from The Old Priory
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$167
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$162
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
1.5 km from The Old Priory
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$189
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$202
  • Priceline
    AU$189
  • Agoda.com
    AU$189
1.4 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Beechworth
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
21
35
21
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
35
21
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews miners cottage quiet street comfortable stay cereal vegemite ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2024

Booked two rooms for the family of 5 one with ensuite for us (parents) to avoid fumbling around at night we figured we could share with the kids in the non ensuite room. Were well on the way up to Beechworth when i go the call to say there had been a problem with the booking (not sure if it was booking.com or the venue) and that they didn't have an ensuite room but they found a double room for us not far from the shared bathroom and would refund the difference. Given the time of year and the lack of options in town we figured we had to continue and unhappily accept the change. Arrived and no reception just an envelope with the two keys which we found thanks to the help of another guest. Well to say we were given the short shift was an understatement, where were allocated room 6B and it wasn't really a room, in fact looking at the room map it was the balcony access corridor converted to a room, complete with hall light and fan switches. so not only did we loose the access to a ensuite but had to move in the tightest of spaces to get out of the room to access the corridor and therefore the bathrooms ( I wont mention the vomit in one of the bathrooms) . On close inspection it wasn't a lot bigger the than the rooms offered to the prisoners at Beechworth Goal. We did happen upon a hotel which offered motel accommodation and who had a room available but was told by The Old Priory that we'd have to pay for the rooms as we'd past the cancellation time. It is a lovely old building with many quirks just don't accept a level of service.

Room tip: Be prepared to be disappointed
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2023

Weird entrance - noone around, just my name and a key on the table. All the lights were out, so the halls were gloomy and had really bad signage. The rooms are named oddly and yet don't have a name plate on them. You have to look at the tiny map, in the gloom, to know where you are - had to get out my phone's torch. Ask *not* to be on the lower floor as people walking above you will wake you up (happened twice). There are "strictly no entrance" signs on the door to the bathroom - doors were shut (possibly locked) when we got there. Manager came up and asked aggressively "Can I *help* you" after I had picked up the key and was in the midst of opening up the room's door in the gloom of the hall which I didn't appreciate. At least two fire exit doors were locked (I checked them specifically in the 'guest lounge') so a fire hazard and against fire regulations as well. Excessively spartan rooms. Also, being expected to wash dishes is kind of not okay in a motel - if I'm paying for the 'privilege' of staying there, I won't wash the dishes for you sorry. Overall a poor experience. Could have been way better potentially as the street had lovely big trees and was a graceful looking old building.

Room tip: Don't be on the bottom floor as you'll be woken up as people walk directly over the top of your head on the upper floor.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2023

We stayed in one of the "miners cottages" and was not disappointed. It was very quaint and comfortable. It was very hot but the air conditioner and the fan kept us very comfortable. The location was well within walking distance of the fabulous town of Beechworth and with so much to see, we didn't spend a whole lot of time in our room, however, it was close enough to come back to for a little rest before heading out again on foot to dinner. Just a warning though, the water pressure is fast, so you only have to JUST turn on the shower or if you've brought your snorkel and goggles, go for it! A lovely stay. Many thanks Angela

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Motbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2023 via mobile

A different experience than your normal motel or hotel which was really great. Everything was clean and tidy. Stayed on the second floor which was quiet and no problem using the shared bathrooms. Other family stayed in the cottage with its own ensuite.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2022

We booked a miners cottage which proved to be comfortable, neat and though basic was as expected facilities wise. The simple but effective (good) bathroom in the cottage is quite unusual, sporting an old hip bath as the foot to a shower. It means that to avoid flooding the floor one has to make sure the shower curtain is well wrapped around the inside of the hip bath (bad). Arrival was strange in that we simply found (after some difficulty and asking another visitor) an upstairs room which held, on a sideboard, an envelope addressed to us continuing room key and a note explaining the location of the room (good and bad). Breakfast was extremely simple - three basic commercial cereals, orange juice, supermarket bread, one jam and vegemite. Worst of all, no butter, only margarine, and only instant coffee or tea bags (ugly). BUT the location is extremely good : very short walk to town centre, quiet street , plenty of parking. The building is impressive. Our room was well priced, and despite the poor breakfast we would stay here again as the good far outweighs the bad and ugly.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gryphon_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews