We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Coldvine
Bowral, Australia
A pleasant stay
Review of The Old Priory
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Jan 2023via mobile
A different experience than your normal motel or hotel which was really great. Everything was clean and tidy. Stayed on the second floor which was quiet and no problem using the shared bathrooms. Other family stayed in the cottage with its own ensuite.
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$260
  • Priceline
    AU$260
  • Agoda.com
    AU$179
  • Expedia.com
    AU$227
0.6 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cozy
Official Site
AU$180
No prepayment needed
  • eDreams
0.3 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$175
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
  • Priceline
    AU$175
1.2 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive King
Booking.com
AU$208
  • Priceline
    AU$208
  • Official Site
    AU$154
  • Expedia.com
    AU$182
1.4 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Carriage Motor Inn Beechworth
Booking.com
AU$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
  • Priceline
    AU$165
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
0.4 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$189
  • Agoda.com
    AU$114
  • Hotels.com
    AU$132
1.4 km from The Old Priory
Free parking
Pool
Pool
Booking.com
AU$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$155
  • Vio.com
    AU$142
  • Expedia.com
    AU$155
0.4 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bar area
Expedia.com
AU$109
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$108
  • Vio.com
    AU$108
0.3 km from The Old Priory
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$167
  • Priceline
    AU$167
  • Expedia.com
    AU$162
  • Hotels.com
    AU$164
1.5 km from The Old Priory
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$194
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$216
  • Priceline
    AU$194
  • Agoda.com
    AU$194
1.4 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Beechworth
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
21
35
21
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
35
21
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews miners cottage quiet street comfortable stay cereal vegemite ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2022

We booked a miners cottage which proved to be comfortable, neat and though basic was as expected facilities wise. The simple but effective (good) bathroom in the cottage is quite unusual, sporting an old hip bath as the foot to a shower. It means that to avoid flooding the floor one has to make sure the shower curtain is well wrapped around the inside of the hip bath (bad). Arrival was strange in that we simply found (after some difficulty and asking another visitor) an upstairs room which held, on a sideboard, an envelope addressed to us continuing room key and a note explaining the location of the room (good and bad). Breakfast was extremely simple - three basic commercial cereals, orange juice, supermarket bread, one jam and vegemite. Worst of all, no butter, only margarine, and only instant coffee or tea bags (ugly). BUT the location is extremely good : very short walk to town centre, quiet street , plenty of parking. The building is impressive. Our room was well priced, and despite the poor breakfast we would stay here again as the good far outweighs the bad and ugly.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gryphon_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2022 via mobile

We had a great long weekend at the Old Priory. Expect basic rooms and shared bathrooms/communal spaces in a wonderful, historic setting. The room and amenities were spotless and we enjoyed exploring the nearby area. Don’t expect all the mod cons but do expect a comfortable stay!

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Alexia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2021

My husband and I had previously stayed in the Miners cottage out the back and enjoyed the accommodation. When I rang to book I was told there was only a double room left for $100 so I booked it. We arrived after 7 pm and our key was ready in reception for us. When we got to our room I was surprised that it was so basic. A double bed pushed against the wall and a set of bunks. No bed light, tv, radio or cooling. I wasn’t surprised that it was shared facilities but disappointed that I wasn’t informed when booking.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank julier030560
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2021 via mobile

Stayed here in January in the Miners Cottage. Great air conditioning (very hot weather) and an easy stroll to the shops. Fascinating main building which would be perfect for groups with lots of shared communal spaces.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PurpleGreenGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2021

We were delighted with our stay at the old priory. We had booked this on the basis that it was a different experience for our kids to stay in an historic building. Being 2020 though we had to change our original booking as we had to cancel our NSW journey leg. We called the Priory directly and spoke with Angela who was very helpful. We ended up staying 2 nights instead of 1 in the nuns cottage.

The rooms were clean, bright and comfortable. Lovely to see a renovation that kept all the original features of the building and with lovely views out to the garden.

We would highly recommend the old priory and Angela as a host. It provided us a unique and welcoming space to enjoy Beechworth with a central home base.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 992amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews