We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Judabrae
Disappointed
Review of The Old Priory
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Apr 2021
My husband and I had previously stayed in the Miners cottage out the back and enjoyed the accommodation. When I rang to book I was told there was only a double room left for $100 so I booked it. We arrived after 7 pm and our key was ready in reception for us. When we got to our room I was surprised that it was so basic. A double bed pushed against the wall and a set of bunks. No bed light, tv, radio or cooling. I wasn’t surprised that it was shared facilities but disappointed that I wasn’t informed when booking.
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$260
  • Priceline
    AU$260
  • Agoda.com
    AU$179
  • Expedia.com
    AU$243
0.6 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cozy
Official Site
AU$180
No prepayment needed
  • eDreams
0.3 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bar area
Expedia.com
AU$109
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$108
  • Vio.com
    AU$108
0.3 km from The Old Priory
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$167
  • Priceline
    AU$167
  • Expedia.com
    AU$162
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
1.5 km from The Old Priory
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$175
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Carriage Motor Inn Beechworth
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
  • Priceline
    AU$165
0.4 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our beautifully renovated Premier room featuring a luxe pillowtop king size bed, premium linen, starlink, 50`Smart TV, writing desk, coffee machine and a private ensuite.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    AU$187
  • Priceline
    AU$208
1.4 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$116
  • Priceline
    AU$189
1.4 km from The Old Priory
Free parking
Pool
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$155
  • Vio.com
    AU$139
  • Priceline
    AU$155
0.4 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$189
  • eDreams
1.4 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Beechworth
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
21
35
21
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
35
21
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews miners cottage quiet street comfortable stay cereal vegemite ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2021 via mobile

Stayed here in January in the Miners Cottage. Great air conditioning (very hot weather) and an easy stroll to the shops. Fascinating main building which would be perfect for groups with lots of shared communal spaces.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PurpleGreenGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2021

We were delighted with our stay at the old priory. We had booked this on the basis that it was a different experience for our kids to stay in an historic building. Being 2020 though we had to change our original booking as we had to cancel our NSW journey leg. We called the Priory directly and spoke with Angela who was very helpful. We ended up staying 2 nights instead of 1 in the nuns cottage.

The rooms were clean, bright and comfortable. Lovely to see a renovation that kept all the original features of the building and with lovely views out to the garden.

We would highly recommend the old priory and Angela as a host. It provided us a unique and welcoming space to enjoy Beechworth with a central home base.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 992amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2020

In North Eastern Victoria, Australia is the gold rush town of Beechworth. We looked for accommodation for 2 nights here recently and found a Convent, steeped in history, although little could we find on its past. Built in 1888 by Nuns from the order of St. Brigid, using 1 million bricks, it impresses, with every hidden doorway and grand staircase, stained glass windows, an original piano, long hallways, dormitory accommodation and attractive gardens. We chose an original Miners cottage, there are two, rather than the shared bathroom style. A good night's sleep was assured, in Motel like accommodation, with olde world touches like the shower with western style bathing tub to stand in! We were told breakfast is included in the guest dining area so we explored and came across another huge bricked area with TV, couches and basic breakfast items so Vegemite on toast went over well. There is a microwave, fridge and guests are asked to wash utensils after use which all are happy to do in this Covid world. It is peaceful and quiet, an interesting and pleasant change from your average Motel/Hotel. Helpful staff, discreet, interesting facts learned about this old Convent. Recommended. Tip - There are ghosts.

Room tip: If you like a little more privacy with an ensuite bathroom then the Miners Cottage is a must.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulineTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2020 via mobile

I’ve stayed here half a dozen times. Original condition 19th century convent. The best rooms are the Parlour and the Chapel. Will stay there again soon. Period charm throughout. Hosts really nice and well located near Main Street.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank gregory667
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2020

The Old Priory really surprised and surpassed our expectations !! Quietly tucked away at 8 Priory Lane, Beechworth is this hidden gem of a location for quiet and comfortable holiday. Extremely clean, well managed and friendly staff to make your stay really affordable and memorable.. 5 stars....

Room tip: All rooms are clean and affordable ranging from single to double to family sized rooms.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews