We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
John D
Roseville, Australia

Rustic accommodation with a variety of room options

Review of The Old Priory
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Dec 2018via mobile
Our family of three stayed in Miner’s Cottage 1, which we assume used to house miners and is quite close to the main priory building. The location is good, a 5-minute wall from the centre of town. The furnishings were suitably rustic in character - for example the ceilings were vaulted wood, the walls were unpainted brick and the shower was one of those arrangements where the shower head pours water into the middle of a pot, with a curtain surrounding the pot. And don’t expect lots of cupboard storage space! But all kinda cute.

Materials for a continental breakfast are provided (cereals, bread, jams, tea, instant coffee) and the cost was very reasonable: in the vicinity of $160 for the night, in peak Xmas/New Year period.

I didn’t see inside the main building but my wife said that it was a bit eerie, and that it seemed that different parts of the building were in different styles and had been built at different times.
Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$166
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cozy
Official Site
AU$180
No prepayment needed
  • eDreams
0.3 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$246
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.6 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Carriage Motor Inn Beechworth
Tripadvisor
AU$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Pool area with lounge chairs and outdoor dining
Tripadvisor
AU$203
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$159
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from The Old Priory
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from The Old Priory
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar area
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$110
  • Official Site
    AU$95
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from The Old Priory
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$170
  • Priceline
1.4 km from The Old Priory
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$154
  • Priceline
1.4 km from The Old Priory
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Beechworth
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
21
35
21
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
35
21
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews miners cottage quiet street comfortable stay cereal vegemite ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2018

We loved our time at the Priory. It is original and authentic and will transport you back in time to boarding school. It was perfect for a group of friends on the Great Vic Bike ride who were not interested in 5 star luxury but delighted to experience a beautiful piece of history. Lovely to meet new owners Remu and Angela who will undoubtedly restore and improve this property with great respect.
Mary

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2018

This is a delightful place to stay. It is December 2018 & I had the pleasure to stay here again. I also met the new owners who have been here a month. They are making changes already which I noticed. More powerpoints in rooms and the wifi working!! Included in a great price per night, you get a continental breakfast included. Coffee & tea all day. Great areas to sit and relax, spacious rooms and a lovely place to explore all around. Hots showers as well. Parking is on the street but it is a quiet street and no problems with this. Very close to main street and all walking distance.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank bosemish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Very characterful olde worlde building and in need of a lot of renovation, but we read the reviews so we knew to expect that. We stayed in the huge Chapel room by reception so everyone walked past to their rooms at all times. No ensuite to had to traverse creaky corridors and stair in the early hours. Rickety floors, well worn beds and furniture, but hey, very cheap, central, and self-serve breakfast included. Clean throughout, hot showers, nice towels, friendly staff, though they did disappear after 5pm. Unfortunately, no control over lively groups who tended to noisily take over and mess up communal areas. Read all the reviews and decide for yourself - but don't complain as its clear what you get......

Room tip: Read the reviews.....
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alebuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2018

If you are after luxury, this is not the place. If you want to stay somewhere that is quaint, but a truly beautiful building and close to town , then this is the place. I visited 36 years ago and was keen to stay on our way thru Beechworth. A big room with period features, stairways to explore, it excited me and my children. Breakfast was included and very simple- cereal juice and toast- and we all clean up after ourselves. It is very affordable .

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank Meegielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Visiting Beechworth we were excited to find an unusual option for our family of five on our southern driving tour.
The positives:are a beautiful historical building, a central location and quirky bathroom and common areas. It’s lovely to find some heritage after many boring motels. For a family room the value was reasonable.
The negatives: we booked a five bed dorm room but got a cramped room with eight bunks and a double / queen. A noisy standing fan was the only respite from heat for us. Mattresses were limp and aged sheets loosened and migrated across the beds. Shared bathrooms were quirky but not well attended: piles of towels built up in corners. Breakfast was included but basic and guests were asked to wash their own dishes; not good for hygiene or convenience.
Overall the kids were not impressed and we the parents were sad that such a fantastic exterior came with an underwhelming experience. This place could be much more but needs more attention to guests. This is neither a quirky backpackers nor a luxurious tribute to Beechworth’s heritage.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews