We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good motel convenient to attractions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armour Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Armour Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good motel convenient to attractions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed one night here and found the owners friendly and informative. The motel is clean and comfortable although a little dark because of the internal bricks. Our room looked out onto the front garden which was very pleasant. We didn't find it noisy but it was Monday night so may have been a quiet night in town. There are rooms at the back and upstairs which might be worth asking for on the weekend. They also gave us a seniors rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if worried about the noise on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cebazat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    123
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
145
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

What a fabulous place to spend a long weekend. A reasonable drive from Melbourne. So much to see and do. History,pubs, food and shopping...for a small country town. The shops are Great!!
The motel was adequate for our needs being clean and comfortable. A definite place to revisit. Especially for the pasties from the Beechworth bakery.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

This motel is very clean, neat and cozy. It is not over the top and so don't expect the ritz. unless you are after that type of place, I would look no further than the armor. What you get is an immaculately clean and comfortable room in the heart of town. The staff is friendly and the town beautiful. I cannot speak highly enough of my experience there. Be sure to check out the Murray to mountain bike path.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faircomment094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
126 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

A value motel set in the heritage area of the town.
Rooms clean and functional for an overnight stay without being opulent.
The TV on the wall at the end of the bed was smaller than my computer screen so very hard to view.
The refridgerator competed with the crowd at the local hotel who were in fine voice until 3.00AM.
If you must stay here then ask for a rear room as it has to be quieter than what we experienced.
By the way the hotel next door put on a great dinner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank archer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

We have stayed in this room regularly over the years but as the kids get older (there are 3 of them - 9, 11 and 12) we will probably need to find bigger accommodation. For families with young kids though, it's great. One of the few places that can accommodate a family of 5!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sawam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beechworth hotels
1.1 km away
George Kerferd Hotel
George Kerferd Hotel
#3 of 6 in Beechworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Beechworth Motor Inn
1.4 km away
Beechworth On Bridge
Beechworth On Bridge
#1 of 6 in Beechworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Beechworth Carriage Motor Inn
1.4 km away
Golden Heritage Motor Inn & Cottages
0.5 km away
Finches of Beechworth
Finches of Beechworth
#2 of 16 in Beechworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armour Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armour Motor Inn

Property: Armour Motor Inn
Address: 1 Camp St, Beechworth, Victoria 3747, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Beechworth
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Beechworth
Price range (per night): $134 - $167
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Armour Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armour Motor Inn is the closest motel to the centre of Beechworth. We are just 200 meters and within a 2 minute walk from Beechworth's shops, restaurants, cafes, and historic sites. We provide a range of clean, classic modern furnished suites, a crystal clear in-ground solar heated swimming pool with attached sauna, and a private garden with BBQ facilities. In addition to this we provide every room with free wifi and free off-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Armour Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armour Motor Inn Beechworth, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing