We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
AU$163
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Imogen F

A pleasant stay!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Jan 2023via mobile
Despite the reviews, I am one to always get my own opinion on a place and I’m glad I did! I booked the deluxe spa suite, which we were situated on the top floor. From checking in, the bloke working was super welcoming and friendly. The place is an old nurses quarters from the asylum its a historic building, so don’t expect modern luxury, enjoy being stepped back in time! The room was clean and large, felt quite homely. Bathroom came with condiments and room came with tea/coffee and a fridge. The deluxe spa suite comes with a little lounge room with a tv and a bed area with a tv as well. I definitely recommend staying here and be open minded with the building and surroundings.
Date of stay: January 2023
Room Tip: Parking is available out the back, not suitable for caravans.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.3 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ah Yett Cottage Open Plan Living (Drummond & Ingram Cottages are identical)
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.3 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free parking
Executive King
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Official Site
    AU$280
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$100
  • Booking.com
1.3 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free parking
Lol.travel
    1.6 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
    Free parking
    Bar/Lounge
    View more hotels in Beechworth
    Reviews (41)
    Filter reviews
    41 results
    Traveller rating
    7
    11
    3
    6
    14
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    7
    11
    3
    6
    14
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews one night pleasant stay asylum wifi accommodation host
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    11 - 16 of 41 reviews
    Reviewed 9 October 2022

    Dean was our friendly host. He looked after our party of 11 very well and was always ready with a smile. The twin room was really good because we had separate doors and tvs it meant after a hard day's partying we could separate and have some me time. Lots of natural light, beautiful gardens. It was a 15 minute walk down the hill to town.

    Date of stay: October 2022
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank RachelA745
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 September 2022 via mobile

    Let me start with the good. Modern bathroom, big tv and comfortable bed. The bad; hand towels not changed from previous occupancy, curtains broken, air con not working, in bad need of paint in the public areas, rooms smell musty and generally an awful smell throughout. The ugly; dirty toilet and paper plates and bowls. The owner needs a serious consideration of a renovation. It could be something really good.

    Room tip: Probably better to avoid
    Date of stay: September 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    1  Thank CorrinaT
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 3 April 2022

    We stayed at the Linaker Art Deco Motel on 26 March 2022 Room 306. Never again.

    As we went to bed, we physically locked the door to our room. Some time during the night (probably round midnight), we were woken by someone trying to get into our room! When questioned the person advised us that he wanted to clean the room and he was sorry. I asked him how he was able to gain entry to our room and he said he was the night manager!

    So, he was able to override the physical lock. I am not sure why he wanted to invade our room at midnight. Perhaps to look around …. Perhaps he was incompetent – after all he should have known it was occupied! Perhaps he had other motives. Nevertheless, it’s a bit hard to get back to sleep after someone has attempted to break into your room.

    The facility is old and tired. Calling it an Art Deco establishment is a bit rich. Sure, there were Art Deco features, but it’s a bit like calling your 4 year old’s painting a masterpiece.
    The non-smoking room smelled of smoke, the corridors smelt “funny” and the whole place was just a little bit run down (despite some attempts to modernise the rooms). And yes I know its only rated at 3 Star but I was let down on so many matters.

    Date of stay: March 2022
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank 815steven
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 29 March 2022

    My partner and I recently took a road trip to Beechworth. We wanted to just cruise along and not book anything until we got there. It was a Friday and the town was busy. Every motel, Airbnb’s was booked out. We only needed one night. By chance I stumbled upon this motel and they had a room and charged me $220 for it. I didn’t think much about it but when we got there, the room was bearable, but the wifi was shocking. It didn’t work most of time we were there. We had to rely on data but unfortunately we were in a location that was close to a black spot for reception. The bed was comfortable enough but the fridge was so badly frosted that even turning it off for a few hour didn’t do a good job of defrosting. One part of the ceiling was so badly damaged by water problems that it looked like it could cave in anytime. I understand that it was a last minute booking and we were charged a premium. But the rate we paid did not match the minimum standards at all. In not so busy times the average room rate is 120. Have to say the property does have a lot of potential. Just needs a conglomerate to buy it renovate and bring it to a luxury standard. That’s all

    Date of stay: March 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Smash2012
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 16 March 2022 via mobile

    The Art Deco hotel was one of a very few accommodation options available in Beechworth when we booked a few weeks ago. The reviews were not great, so we weren’t expecting much. We booked in for a two night midweek stay. We were met by a new manager (who started a week ago) so maybe he’ll turn things around for the hotel.

    Our room on the ground floor was small and clean. So was the bathroom, although a bit of mould was starting to bloom near the ceiling. The bed was comfy enough. The open window and desktop fan helped with the summer heat. Although we could hear the noise of early morning guest departures, the kookaburras were more pleasant.

    A breakfast basket was dropped off shortly after we arrived, with 3 cereal packets, 2 milk, 4 slices of bread and toppings for toast. I’m not sure if it was supposed to last us two mornings, and we didn’t receive another.

    Our room wasn’t serviced after our first night. Not really a big deal, but unexpected. Other than the manager when we checked in, we didn’t see another staff member in our 48 hour stay. Staffing issues, perhaps?

    Overall, the hotel was cheap and suited us. It is a bit tired, though (e.g. wall plaster is chipping), and could be amazing with a makeover and bit of investment.

    Date of stay: March 2022
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank MuskokaGirlDownUnder
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews