We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$165
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Hotels.com
AU$165
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
AU$165
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Swinters
St Kilda, Australia
Beautiful gardens
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Dec 2021via mobile
The Art Deco hotel is set in beautiful gardens and it’s lovely to wake up to birds singing. My room was clean and comfortable and the housekeeping staff were wonderful and attentive.

It would be nice if it was renovated to a real Art Deco hotel with genuine Art Deco furniture and fittings.It would be something quite special then.

Unfortunately on the two occasions I have stayed here the peaceful ambience has been ruined by noisy guests or neighbours The first occasion, it was children left unsupervised at night running around the corridors. This time it was people across Oak avenue playing music loudly and talking loudly late at night.

I rang the hotel and the woman who answered the phone ( a manager I think) said I’d have to ring the police. They can ‘t go over and knock on the door of the house and anyway they (the hotel) are closed.
Date of stay: December 2021
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$189
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$116
  • Agoda.com
    AU$111
  • Expedia.com
    AU$118
0.2 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$167
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$162
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
1.1 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$203
  • Hotels.com
    AU$233
  • Agoda.com
    AU$179
  • Expedia.com
    AU$243
1.3 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cozy
Official Site
AU$180
No prepayment needed
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$175
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$175
1.7 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$155
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$155
  • Expedia.com
    AU$155
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$155
1.0 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Carriage Motor Inn Beechworth
Booking.com
AU$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$165
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$165
1.4 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Our beautifully renovated Premier room featuring a luxe pillowtop king size bed, premium linen, starlink, 50`Smart TV, writing desk, coffee machine and a private ensuite.
Booking.com
AU$208
  • Expedia.com
    AU$182
  • Official Site
    AU$154
  • Hotels.com
    AU$187
2.1 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
AU$108
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$108
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$189
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$202
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$189
2.2 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Beechworth
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
7
11
3
6
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
11
3
6
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night pleasant stay asylum wifi accommodation host
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2021 via mobile

Disappointing stay over 2 nights. The powerpoints in our room stopped working so we had no fridge (to keep our 3.5yr old daughter’s food cold), no TV, no way of using the kettle/toaster provided for making breakfast, no way of charging phones, etc. The owner blamed us, offering no solutions such as another room or a tradesperson to repair it immediately, and said we “caused the power outage and because he’d have to call an electrician next week he wasn’t giving us even $1 in compensation because it was our fault”. He was rude and arrogant. I’d never stay here again or recommend it to others. There were other issues we had inc. some attention to detail re: housekeeping (i.e. dirty cutlery placed back with the clean cutlery, food items being removed from our room) but these could easily be forgiven if better customer service from the owner and a commitment to kindness, compassion and understanding had been applied. “I don’t care if you don’t come again” was his attitude, “because I can get more customers from booking.com and other sites”. Such a shame for beautiful Beechworth. We’d stayed here before a number of times before this owner took over. What a disaster!

Room tip: Avoid at all costs.
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank DamienStevens3630
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2021 via mobile

My partner booked the spa suite for our overnight stay while attending a seminar in Beechworth.
Myself and others I know attending the seminar are gluten free. I asked the man at reception if they had gluten free bread or cereal for mine and other’s breakfasts. He said they don’t stock gluten free as it isn’t asked for and it would go off. I suggested he put the bread in the freezer as he did the other bread provided. Fortunately, a staff member brought some bags of gluten free cornflakes to us.
Our bed was the most uncomfortable my partner and I slept in and we had sore neck and back next morning.
A friend staying there had an electrical problem in their room and had no fridge, kettle, toaster or tv working. The man at reception blamed them for the electrical fault and wouldn’t shift them to another room and wouldn’t agree to monetary compensation.
We had stayed at the Linaker before and it was clean and staffed by friendly helpful people.
Such a shame the new owners aren’t the same.
I will never stay at the Linaker again

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank jenni195888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2021

The location is so beautiful with parkland all around. There are no bells and whistles with this basic accommodation but the unit set up is 2 bedrooms (1 queen and 1 single) sharing a small bathroom with excellent water pressure in the shower. Great heating in the bedrooms and the beds were extremely warm and comfortable - important as it gets cold in this rattling old building. Great to be in such a lovely old building and exactly what I was looking for in regards to price, cleanliness and location.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriscregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2021 via mobile

Great little stay, originally booked one night upon check in asked if we could make two nights due to tour being unavailable till next night. No problem at all changed in a couple of minutes, room was comfortable and warm once heating kicked in. Ensuite had all we needed hot water in shower etc. Breakfast bowl for next morning in fridge ready for us with cereal, bread, juice and milk etc. Brooke and Warren were always busy but made time for a friendly chat and recommended places to eat and to make bookings as Beechworth itself was exceptionally busy. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room tip: Book dinner reservations as everything books out quickly, same with tours for gaol and ghost and history tours. Parking available at rear.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kstew996
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

On arrival the bathroom sink was dirty and had long black hairs in it, which I also found on the bathroom wall. We also realised that anyone in the car park would be able to see clearly into the shower and when you were on the toilet. We had to hang one of the towels up to block the view into the bathroom. Lounge setout needs to be better. They list you get slippers in the "Deluxe" room but there was only one pair but 2 people were booked. Also only one bowl for breakfast cereal. But the bed was comfortable which is always a good thing when away from home and the heaters worked well. Could be so much more with some tweaking. Can only hope the new management realise what they could have in such a beautiful spot.

Room tip: Check the bathroom window.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews