We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
AU$165
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
chriscregan
Macedon Ranges, Australia

Great accommodation with a history

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Aug 2021
The location is so beautiful with parkland all around. There are no bells and whistles with this basic accommodation but the unit set up is 2 bedrooms (1 queen and 1 single) sharing a small bathroom with excellent water pressure in the shower. Great heating in the bedrooms and the beds were extremely warm and comfortable - important as it gets cold in this rattling old building. Great to be in such a lovely old building and exactly what I was looking for in regards to price, cleanliness and location.
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$129
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$111
  • Expedia.com
    AU$121
0.2 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$175
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
  • Hotels.com
    AU$172
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cozy
Official Site
AU$180
No prepayment needed
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive King
Booking.com
AU$208
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    AU$154
  • Expedia.com
    AU$182
2.1 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Carriage Motor Inn Beechworth
Booking.com
AU$165
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$165
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Pool area with lounge chairs and outdoor dining
Booking.com
AU$178
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$212
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$226
2.2 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$167
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$155
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$95
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Linaker Art Deco Nurses Quarters
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Beechworth
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
7
11
3
6
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
11
3
6
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night pleasant stay asylum wifi accommodation host
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2021 via mobile

Great little stay, originally booked one night upon check in asked if we could make two nights due to tour being unavailable till next night. No problem at all changed in a couple of minutes, room was comfortable and warm once heating kicked in. Ensuite had all we needed hot water in shower etc. Breakfast bowl for next morning in fridge ready for us with cereal, bread, juice and milk etc. Brooke and Warren were always busy but made time for a friendly chat and recommended places to eat and to make bookings as Beechworth itself was exceptionally busy. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room tip: Book dinner reservations as everything books out quickly, same with tours for gaol and ghost and history tours. Parking available at rear.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kstew996
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

On arrival the bathroom sink was dirty and had long black hairs in it, which I also found on the bathroom wall. We also realised that anyone in the car park would be able to see clearly into the shower and when you were on the toilet. We had to hang one of the towels up to block the view into the bathroom. Lounge setout needs to be better. They list you get slippers in the "Deluxe" room but there was only one pair but 2 people were booked. Also only one bowl for breakfast cereal. But the bed was comfortable which is always a good thing when away from home and the heaters worked well. Could be so much more with some tweaking. Can only hope the new management realise what they could have in such a beautiful spot.

Room tip: Check the bathroom window.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2021

This is an art deco building built in 1937 as accommodation for nurses. I had a 'suite' with a bedroom, a bathroom and a small lounge area. It's slightly tatty but very comfortable. The building is set up on a hill just outside the town amongst a wonderful extensive garden and a number of other historic buildings including an old asylum.

New management had just taken over when we arrived (Easter 2021) so the service was somewhat chaotic and there was no wifi - but I'm sure that will all be fixed by now.

I'd stay there again.

Date of stay: April 2021
1  Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2020 via mobile

Great place to stay in Beechworth. On site restaurant and bar offering reasonable prices.
Accommodation simple but spacious.
Check the lift is working if you have disability requirements.
Staff very friendly and service great.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2020 via mobile

We stayed here recently, thought it would be atmospheric and a bit different, which it was.....
These former nurses quarters are part of the Mayday Hills conservation area, a huge area, but don’t ask for a map..... but you are welcome to take a picture of the 2 they have.
It encompasses the old asylum which runs ghost and historic tours, which might be fun, but we were only there for 2 days and Beechworth is a great place to explore.
The room was shabby with peeling paint and marked doors, but the worst part is.... NO AIR CONDITIONERS! Just a fan which makes you think you are sleeping in a room with a helicopter!
If you hang your towels up to save water, they don’t change the small ones or tidy the bathroom.
I know it’s cheap, but we didn’t expect this lack of care.
A good 15 minute walk to the town which will definitely keep you fit 😁

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews