We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad bakery”
Review of Beechworth Bakery

Beechworth Bakery
Ranked #2 of 6 Quick Bites in Beechworth
Price range: AU$2 - AU$9
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: It's here, in Beechworth, that our bakery and our traditions began. Steeped in history as this town - and this region - is, it's a great place to live, work and visit. Making the most of two historic buildings sitting side by side right in the centre of town, the original Beechworth Bakery was established in 1984. Since then the bakery has carried on the original vision and passion for customer service and quality product, which runs through the foundation of all our bakeries. We hope you enjoy your visit to Beechworth, and warmly invite you to our bakery - your home away from home.
Reviewed 4 June 2023 via mobile

We got the Ned Kelly pie which was nice but I felt like for a steak pie it was more mince not steak, my Europe donut was nice but tasted more like fresh cream then vanilla custard. I would recommend going to gum tree pies over this bakery, as they actually have steak in their pies and the customer service was better.

Date of visit: May 2023
Thank kirrinf2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2023

Very busy and popular bakery. The food and service was good but longish wait in the queue to be served. Outdoor dining upstairs was very pleasant.

Date of visit: May 2023
1  Thank gothique4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2023 via mobile

I’ve tried to love this bakery on several visits to Beechworth but I just don’t get it. They sell stuff I used to see in country bakeries in the 70s and 80s. Twice I’ve left without buying anything.
Passed through the town again today and decided to pick up some sandwiches. Queued for 20 minutes ( including an elderly man who did the classic cut in move of pretending to have a conversation with the couple in front of me) and purchased two dead ordinary salad rolls wrapped in plastic that had been sitting there all day. Mine was encrusted in bacon and cheese a la bakers delight but not as good.
Plenty of better options in Beechworth to be sure. There’s a reason we moved in from lamingtons, vanilla slices and icing on everything many years ago. Give it a miss unless you want to re-live the bad old days but with a longer queue.

Date of visit: April 2023
2  Thank aussiesinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2023 via mobile

When visiting Beechworth, this is a ‘must do’ activity. The iconic bakery offers a large selection of tempting foods to choose from - for either a simple coffee / cake or a fuller meal. We were not disappointed and enjoyed a light meal while ‘people watching’ through the window.

Date of visit: April 2023
5  Thank normanp311
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2023

Any chance you could open up in Sydney region?? Went here on Anzac day, had a Ned Kelly pie and beesting both absolutely delicious, probably never go here again which is most unfortunate as I live too far away😭

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D9336RYamyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Beechworth Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Beechworth Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.