We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too pricey”
Review of Empire Hotel Beechworth - CLOSED

Empire Hotel Beechworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$12 - AU$46
Description: The Empire Hotel has new owners from October 2017. Where old meets new ! Contemporary Heritage Hotel in Victoria's North East. Vegan, Vegetarian and Gluten Free Options available.
Restaurant details
Description: The Empire Hotel has new owners from October 2017. Where old meets new ! Contemporary Heritage Hotel in Victoria's North East. Vegan, Vegetarian and Gluten Free Options available.
Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

we booked for a group of 7 on aSaturday evening. Unfortunately did not get a spot up on the balcony, instead in the noisy front room. Selection of meals somewhat restricted, an observation I've made recently in other pubs. So I choose the only vegetarian option: grilled tofu. Well, the portion was rather small, but tasty. However almost $40 for this meal was way too much! Staff were friendly and hard working, especially the girl behind the bar 👏👏However, one main meal wasn't served at all, and having seen the small-ish size of the meal, we didn't insist

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Axel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2024

Having not been able to get a table for three anywhere in Beechworth tonight, we were warmly welcomed at the Empire and directed to a table upstairs on the verandah. Their service was quick and food absolutely amazing! Thank you!

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lydia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2024 via mobile

Have just dined at this excellent pub. The decor is simple and pleasant, and the food excellent. Don’t miss it in Beechworth. We started with the red lentil / coconut dip and a separate course of cured ocean trout. Then moved onto the lamb rump with a middle eastern flavour and a separate salad. Everything is made in house. There were a variety of other dishes we would have loved to have tried, but there were only two of us. Dishes going to other tables looked similarly fabulous. The current owners (including the chef) bought the hotel 6 years ago. Support them. It’s a delightful find in a small town with a couple of other more up market restaurants, and this, in simpler surrounds but food to love. Service was delightful from Andy the owner and Emily behind the bar. Thank you.

Date of visit: January 2024
1  Thank mlssyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2024 via mobile

A superb experience from the moment we walked in. Food was sensational (don't bother with the $170 degustation menu around the corner), cocktails were amazing (try the Rose Hancock). Andrew on front-of-house is an informative, friendly and professional dude. If you are in Beechworth, eat here.

Date of visit: January 2024
1  Thank 651dannyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2024 via mobile

Absolutely superb dinner tonight! We are in Beechworth for one night only en route from Sydney to Melbourne and we are chuffed to bits we ended up in the Empire as the food was fantastic. 3 of us had steaks and one the duck and I can honestly say it was the best steak I’ve had for ages. Great service, we sampled the local wine and felt throughly spoiled!

Date of visit: January 2024
1  Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Empire Hotel Beechworth also viewed

 
Beechworth, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.