We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
AU$186
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Algotels
AU$173
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Marianne
Sydney base
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Dec 2020
The location is perfect for me when travelling to Sydney from the mountains. My family is close by and all the essential shopping is in walking distance. The hotel itself has character and best of all, pet friendly. It has changed hands over the years and recently provided a change in front of house staff which has made all the difference. A delight to be the recipient of thoughtful, considerate and helpful staff. Rooms are well appointed with all the essentials and careful thought is given to the authenticity of the period it is reflecting. The restaurant is separate to the hotel and caters to a strict cuisine with their menu changing from time to time. The service was good and meal served promptly but unfortunately was not hot. I'll definitely give it another chance. Being given a breakfast voucher and wifi/entrance code on check-in is a little archaic. Great coffee must be given a mention. A suggestion for the wifi and entrance code sharing would be to send to your mobile phone rather than being printed on a small piece of paper. It took me 20 minutes to find the piece of paper when I returned back one night which means without night staff there is no entry if you don't have the code.
Date of stay: December 2020
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$182
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from The Hughenden Boutique Hotel
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from The Hughenden Boutique Hotel
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • InterContinental
    AU$347
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from The Hughenden Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.4 km from The Hughenden Boutique Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
6.8 km from The Hughenden Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bondi Junction Lodge
Booking.com
    1.9 km from The Hughenden Boutique Hotel
    Hotel Exterior
    Booking.com
    AU$251
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
      AU$279
    • Hotels.com
      AU$251
    • Expedia.com
      AU$251
    0.8 km from The Hughenden Boutique Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    1 Bedroom Podium Suite
    Booking.com
    AU$210
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      AU$210
    • Vio.com
      AU$210
    • Agoda.com
      AU$210
    1.3 km from The Hughenden Boutique Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    HolidayInn.com
    AU$178
    Save more with IHG One Rewards
    • Tripadvisor
      AU$179
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    1.3 km from The Hughenden Boutique Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Booking.com
    AU$186
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
    • Algotels
      AU$173
    • Priceline
    0.0 km from The Hughenden Boutique Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Bar/Lounge
    View more hotels in Woollahra
    Reviews (149)
    Filter reviews
    149 results
    Traveller rating
    72
    40
    26
    8
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    72
    40
    26
    8
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews centennial park allianz stadium oxford street common lounge catch up with friends false alarm smoke alarm ceiling fan lovely hotel old world charm stay there again yogurt handy location double bed quiet room stayed nights local village
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    52 - 57 of 149 reviews
    Reviewed 20 December 2020

    The room housekeeping not at all thorough, the overhead fan filthy, bed barely made. Overall the hotel, including the entrance areas and front cafe area, needs a good clean, and the carpets int he passages need throwing out.

    Date of stay: December 2020
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Kiribatitraveller
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 December 2020

    This is a really sweet hotel, in a good location, and the rooms are well-appointed and clean. The breakfast arrangement is a little unusual in that you get a $10 voucher to use in the cafe downstairs; it will buy you one of 4 breakfast specials costing exactly that much, and they are quite good value eg egg bagel and a drink. But watch out if you want soy milk with your coffee as they will actually make you pay $0.40 more. This just seemed mean to me. Also the tables don't get cleared promptly when people leave so you might end up with few choices of where to sit. Reception has limited hours but they have quite a good system for after-hours arrivals so don't be put off by that. The hotel is pet friendly which is obviously great if you have a pet - but we had a dog barking outside for quite some time, very early in the morning. Not sure if that's a regular thing.

    Room tip: Get a room towards the back Get a room towards the back
    Date of stay: December 2020
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank elizabethhW6404XI
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 15 December 2020

    Its run down and shabby, the rooms are very small (Queen room), relatively airless and pokey. The hallway very noisy at night. After a broken night's sleep we had a couple having a noisy ongoing row in the hallway at 5am over a dog or something, clearly substances were involved and there was absolutely zero consideration given to other guests. That's not hotel's fault (except that they allow dogs) it just had us departing in a pretty ugly frame of mind, but a night manager would have sorted it out. When someone shuts a door it goes off like a rifle shot. Pretty ordinary place.........

    Room tip: Don't stay there.
    Date of stay: December 2020
      • Value
      • Service
    Thank petermorseflyfisher
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 December 2020 via mobile

    The room was small but the welcome was huge.
    Delightful breakfasts included.
    Lovely peaceful downstairs lounge.
    Easy access to bus.
    Great pubs nearby.
    Close to Emanuel Synagogue and it’s kosher!!
    Local shops are interesting as are the houses in the back streets.

    Date of stay: December 2020
    1  Thank U4231OYjuliel
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 10 December 2020

    We have stayed at the Hughenden for many years. During this time the business has been sold twice to a new owner. We stayed at the Hughenden for the following reasons.
    1 The property and atmosphere is delightful
    2 The staff get to know you and are very helpful.
    3 The room rates are very reasonable and include a breakfast.
    4 The restaurant is lovely and the food very good.
    5 The hotel is well looked after and very clean.
    6 The hotel is in an area close to shopping and cafes.

    Today.
    1 The property is still interesting but has lost its charm.
    2 Despite having stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions over many years, we were not in the computer.
    3 The room rates have gone up, but include a voucher for breakfast in the coffee terrace. No opportunity to order a cooked breakfast or self serve from a buffet.
    4 The restaurant does not provide lunch and only has dinner on weekend nights.
    5 The hotel whilst clean is looking neglected and carpets warn and grubby. Dust under the furniture in the foyer.

    The hotel is no longer offering the convenience we were loving.
    THE REASONS. for everything? The hotel has been sold and divided its facilities between accomodation and dining, run now by separated entities.
    Plus I handed back the breakfast vouchers value 2x$10 and they still charged me 7.50 for mini bar purchases.
    I think we will find something else.

    Date of stay: December 2020
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 734pennies
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews