We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
47
30
15
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
47
30
15
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews centennial park oxford street continental breakfast was included sun deck order a cooked breakfast the hotel is pet friendly pets are allowed overhead fan paddington area entertainment quarter included in the room price chain hotels secure parking the king size bed bondi beach stayed one night lovely hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2020

This is a really sweet hotel, in a good location, and the rooms are well-appointed and clean. The breakfast arrangement is a little unusual in that you get a $10 voucher to use in the cafe downstairs; it will buy you one of 4 breakfast specials costing exactly that much, and they are quite good value eg egg bagel and a drink. But watch out if you want soy milk with your coffee as they will actually make you pay $0.40 more. This just seemed mean to me. Also the tables don't get cleared promptly when people leave so you might end up with few choices of where to sit. Reception has limited hours but they have quite a good system for after-hours arrivals so don't be put off by that. The hotel is pet friendly which is obviously great if you have a pet - but we had a dog barking outside for quite some time, very early in the morning. Not sure if that's a regular thing.

Room tip: Get a room towards the back Get a room towards the back
Date of stay: December 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank elizabethhW6404XI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2020

Its run down and shabby, the rooms are very small (Queen room), relatively airless and pokey. The hallway very noisy at night. After a broken night's sleep we had a couple having a noisy ongoing row in the hallway at 5am over a dog or something, clearly substances were involved and there was absolutely zero consideration given to other guests. That's not hotel's fault (except that they allow dogs) it just had us departing in a pretty ugly frame of mind, but a night manager would have sorted it out. When someone shuts a door it goes off like a rifle shot. Pretty ordinary place.........

Room tip: Don't stay there.
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
Thank petermorseflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2020 via mobile

The room was small but the welcome was huge.
Delightful breakfasts included.
Lovely peaceful downstairs lounge.
Easy access to bus.
Great pubs nearby.
Close to Emanuel Synagogue and it’s kosher!!
Local shops are interesting as are the houses in the back streets.

Date of stay: December 2020
1  Thank U4231OYjuliel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2020

We have stayed at the Hughenden for many years. During this time the business has been sold twice to a new owner. We stayed at the Hughenden for the following reasons.
1 The property and atmosphere is delightful
2 The staff get to know you and are very helpful.
3 The room rates are very reasonable and include a breakfast.
4 The restaurant is lovely and the food very good.
5 The hotel is well looked after and very clean.
6 The hotel is in an area close to shopping and cafes.

Today.
1 The property is still interesting but has lost its charm.
2 Despite having stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions over many years, we were not in the computer.
3 The room rates have gone up, but include a voucher for breakfast in the coffee terrace. No opportunity to order a cooked breakfast or self serve from a buffet.
4 The restaurant does not provide lunch and only has dinner on weekend nights.
5 The hotel whilst clean is looking neglected and carpets warn and grubby. Dust under the furniture in the foyer.

The hotel is no longer offering the convenience we were loving.
THE REASONS. for everything? The hotel has been sold and divided its facilities between accomodation and dining, run now by separated entities.
Plus I handed back the breakfast vouchers value 2x$10 and they still charged me 7.50 for mini bar purchases.
I think we will find something else.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 734pennies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2020

I stayed one night at the Hughenden after attending a wedding in Centennial Park, a short walk from the hotel. I booked the day before and received a great rate and secure parking. Having grown up in this area of Sydney, I'd been past the hotel many times, but never stayed until this week. It is an old hotel but the room (Standard Plus) was a good size, nicely decorated and perfect for a night of rest before an early start the next day. The king size bed was comfortable and although I had the first room on the ground floor, I couldn't hear any noise from the road. The bar at the front of the hotel was a nice place to enjoy a sparkling wine before walking to the wedding and the breakfast voucher for the coffee shop open at 7am was perfect for me. I'm glad I finally stayed here and would do so again; the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel offered a unique experience when compared with the larger hotels in the city.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robync576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews