We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
AU$162
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Ella

Happily surprised

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Mar 2024
After reading the reviews I was sceptical about the cleanliness of the place, I even bought my own sheets and cleaning products but I was pleasantly surprised by my stay. I stayed one night for a wedding in the Newport Room. I can’t say the room wasn’t in need of a good spring clean, with marks on the curtains and some dust in the cupboards but all the important things were spotless. The sheets were clean and the bed quite comfortable. The bathroom was outdated but perfectly clean. Overall I was happy with my stay, it got the job done!
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: The parking is close to impossible on busy weekends, but a few streets away is untimed street...
Trip type: Travelled solo
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$162
  • Hotels.com
0.0 km from Metro Mirage Hotel Newport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$231
  • Hotels.com
8.7 km from Metro Mirage Hotel Newport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$185
  • Hotels.com
9.7 km from Metro Mirage Hotel Newport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$140
  • Mercure
    AU$170
11.6 km from Metro Mirage Hotel Newport
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Large hot spa
Tripadvisor
AU$170
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
14.4 km from Metro Mirage Hotel Newport
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$139
  • Priceline
15.4 km from Metro Mirage Hotel Newport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
21.4 km from Metro Mirage Hotel Newport
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
15.7 km from Metro Mirage Hotel Newport
Free Wifi
Beachfront
21.3 km from Metro Mirage Hotel Newport
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Newport
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
156
214
165
118
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
156
214
165
118
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road northern beaches comfortable bed overlooking the water palm beach nice pool arms pittwater mirage views waterfront venue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2023 via mobile

This place was so run down. Mould in bathroom with no fans. Window in bathroom was painted with black paint. The air conditioner was so noisey it kept on cutting on and off. The blanket between the doona cover was old and smelt.The room smelled musty. The car park was so narrow very difficult to park even for a very experienced driver. I would not recommend staying there A lot of money needs to be spent on it to make it pleasant. I think it was overpriced for what you got. The position was great

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2023 via mobile

Upon arrival the hotel looked tidy and friendly and considering it wasn’t cheap I was expecting to have a nice comfortable stay but unfortunately that wasn’t the case. The lobby was warm and cosy and this really tricks guests into thinking the whole hotel would be in similar condition. I checked in and was given just one room card for 2 people and it took 3 attempts and trips back to the check in desk to get it to work and after complaining even more we was finally given a second card that subsequently never worked. The lift was filthy and freezing cold and the fire door was wedged open on the 2nd floor which is both dangerous and illegal and my partner who happens to be a fire inspector asked the hotel to close it and was told it was not her responsibility. Our room had a lovely view over the water but unfortunately that was the only lovely thing about it. The decor was incredibly dated and the room was freezing cold, smelled of damp and absolutely filthy. The hotel was full so even after several complaints we couldn’t be moved but unfortunately the hotel had zero interest in fixing any of the problems. The sofa was filthy, the curtains had moth holes, the bathroom was damaged and filthy with a leaking bath and a very strong damp smell. The room was freezing cold and dark. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to anyone and I’ll never return to it again. Absolutely disgusting service and the quality of the rooms is beyond a joke

Room tip: Not much parking, filthy cold and dirty rooms, terrible customer service
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2023

Absolutely appalling
The hotel rang day before we were due to stay informing me that they couldn’t honour our booking the next day … Easter Sunday
Excuses were
Overbooked
A leak in the room
Flight crew were in
They did offer another room downgrading to a room with no natural light dirty curtains hanging off … bathroom shouldn’t be mentioned
When saying this was not suitable it was explained that this room is not in use that why it was like that
So take it or leave
Should not would not do not stay … awful !
Nowhere near the standard they say
And the fact that it seemed ok to do this a day before people were staying on a incredibly busy time left us with no where to stay so people had to cancel is beyond unprofessional lack of courtesy and just lack of hospitality which is what the industry strives for … does not even close

Room tip: Dont
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2023 via mobile

Rooms seem nice until you realise they are filled with mould and bad paint jobs.
The bed was comfortable.
The public pool needs demolition as there's splinters sticking out of the poor old decking and the Spa didn't work due to someone pushing the button in too hard and there's no maintenance on weekends.
Not living up to the Sheraton Mirage name.

Room tip: Avoid this hotel
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank summutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2023 via mobile

Without doubt the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Do not believe the 4 star rating, this hotel is 2 star at best. The entire facility is old, worn out and falling apart. The carpark is an absolute nightmare to get in and out of. The whole place is in dire need of a major renovation. Such a shame as it’s in a prime location and could be so much better.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews