We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italy by The Spit”

Chiosco by Ormeggio
Ranked #11 of 135 Restaurants in Mosman
Price range: USD 8 - USD 30
Cuisines: Italian, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The team from Ormeggio at The Spit brings you a casual waterside diner 'Chiosco By Ormeggio'. BYO and barefoot-friendly, Chiosco By Ormeggio is a real Italian trattoria by the sea, with killer views. Serving more traditional Italian meals and take away options at lunch. Plus, our high tech awning and heating system guarantees us against inclement weather all year round.
Reviewed 6 November 2017

It was a dreary day but the atmosphere was warm as was the staff welcome. This place has a great vibe and the service and food back that up.
We don't tend to order huge amounts of food so between four we had excellent bread with olive oil, feather light calamari, four entree size pasta dishes and a rocket salad. All but one of the pasta dishes were good - the wagyu gnocchi a standout - but all four of us disliked the taste of the dish with tuna and bottarga. I don't think it was the bottarga but it tasted metallic in some way. I think it was taken off the bill but I didn't check.
The wines by the glass list is a bit restrictive and a number are expensive. However we had an excellent bottle of Sicilian vermentino.

The experience was really enjoyable - we had a recent holiday in Italy and felt like we had returned for a few hours.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOrmeggioGroup, Front Office Manager at Chiosco by Ormeggio, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your honest feedback Mark!
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. I'll be sure to pass on your notes to the chef, we appreciate any opportunity to continue to improve.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

I have been there with 3 of my friends for one of them birthday and we really enjoy it. Thanks to Ivo, Dario and all the guy that gave us an amazing lunch.
We come back for sure!

Thank robysydney17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOrmeggioGroup, Front Office Manager at Chiosco by Ormeggio, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you for celebrating with us! We're so happy to hear that you your lunch with us and I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to the team. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

I have visited Chiosco now twice, once as a group of friends for a birthday lunch second with my partner for an intimate dinner. The degustation menu for lunch is quite different and more expansive than the dinner menu but both are wonderful. The food was sensational and the service faultless. Easy parking is only a short walk away and being a pretty waters edge location makes it a worthwhile experience. Can’t wait to go again in Summer.

1  Thank Fee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOrmeggioGroup, Front Office Manager at Chiosco by Ormeggio, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Grazie Fee! It's great to hear you enjoyed your meals with us and I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to the team. We offer our Sharing Feast for both lunch and dinner, it's a great way to try all the chefs favourites. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

The food is very tasty and a very good Italian mix but the shared platters were so small and despite the lovely location on a wharf surrounded by water and boats, the feeling of being ripped off does not create a wonderful experience so I would not go back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Reallyupset2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOrmeggioGroup, Front Office Manager at Chiosco by Ormeggio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Hi Reallyupset2014, thank you for your honest feedback. It's a shame to hear you were not completely satisfied. If you ever find that you’re unhappy with your meal in the future, please do not hesitate to tell your waiter so that the chef can replace or fix your meal as needed. We would much prefer you leave the restaurant satisfied than still hungry! I'll be sure to pass on your feedback to the chef and we hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

The location was nice, we had the late afternoon lunch sitting and the place was not crowded but they still felt the need to seat us so close to other diners that we had to move the table to get into our seat (and avoid hitting the people behind us).

The service was not as attentive as I would have expected we had to call out to staff to get their attention multiple times, at one point because we couldn't get their attention we had to go to the counter to ask for wine glasses (there were only two other tables so they were not run off their feet).

The food was OK but not 5 star either. The bruschetta entree just tasted of mayonnaise, it was thick and overpowered the other ingredients. The barramundi main was watery. A thick cut of barramundi is difficult to cook but at those prices I would have expected it to be cooked better.

It was average, not a great meal or experience but not a bad one either but I probably won't go back.

Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOrmeggioGroup, Front Office Manager at Chiosco by Ormeggio, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hi Annie M, Thank you for your honest feedback. It's a shame to hear that you did not enjoy your meal and I'll be sure to pass your feedback on to the Restaurant Manager so that we can continue to improve. We hope you will try us again some time in the near future because we would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiosco by Ormeggio also viewed

Mosman, Greater Sydney
Mosman, Greater Sydney
 
Mosman, Greater Sydney
Newport, Pittwater
 
Mosman, Greater Sydney
Willoughby, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Chiosco by Ormeggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing