We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Long Wait for the Food”
Review of Public Dining Room

Public Dining Room
Ranked #4 of 125 Restaurants in Mosman
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mosman
Description: Our restaurant revolves around a seasonally-driven menu that celebrates exceptional Australian produce every day. Our vision is to showcase local ingredients while reflecting the diverse backgrounds of the culinary team. Exceptional ingredients are prepared simply, combined with classic technique and clean flavours. We aim to offer casual fine dining in a relaxed luxury space. The menu is complemented by an extensive wine list, curated by our head sommelier.
Reviewed 29 December 2019

This has a fantastic outlook over Balmoral Beach. The staff are very helpful & the food was well presented. The only drawback, and it was a big one, was the wait between courses. It must have been a 45 minute wait between the entree & main course. As a result we decided not to even chance the wait for desert!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2019

Had a lovely lunch with colleagues for a Christmas catch up. You can't beat the relaxing feel of Balmoral and the fantastic views. First time at this restaurant and we will be back again. The staff were welcoming and the restaurant felt fresh and light. They helped us with some dietary issues. We had mains and shared salads and had dessert. The food was fantastic.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2019

Prev Watermark but needs a revamp all round . Location great and staff friendly and efficient mostly . Food avrage for the price but tasty.

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank Hugh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 December 2019 via mobile

If your looking for a special occasion lunch or Dinner place . Well this is it ! Great Food , service and the wine list is superb . And I forgot the superb View . Cheers

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank OMANLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2019

We were invited here by generous friends - who are clearly regulars. The location is stunning - facing on to Balmoral beach. The food more than matched the scenery and the service was professional and friendly. We went on a night where the oysters were only one dollar each...we feasted. I would love to be able to return to this wonderful restaurant - I think it is the best I have been to in Sydney...

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank theweeflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PublicDiningRoom, Owner at Public Dining Room, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2019

Best restaurant you have been to in Sydney - WOW! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so, so pleased that your recent visit to Public Dining Room was an 'all round' success! Our aim is to deliver on food, service and atmosphere and we clearly ticked all three boxes on this occasion. We do hope that you get the chance to visit us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Public Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Public Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.