We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for an occasion meal”

Ormeggio at The Spit
Ranked #2 of 144 Restaurants in Mosman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 53 - USD 125
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ormeggio at The Spit specialises in contemporary Italian cuisine with a focus on Chef Alessandro's home region, Lombardia. The spectacular water views are matched by the sensational food and acclaimed wine list. Ormeggio at The Spit has Two Chef Hats in the SMH Good Food Guide and is in Gourmet Traveller's Top 100 Australian restaurants. For the full Ormeggio experience we highly recommend trying our degustation menu with matching wines. Right next door Ormeggio has a more casual sister restaurant, "Chiosco By Ormeggio" - an Italian street food inspired, casual diner. BYO and barefoot friendly, don't forget to visit Chiosco while in the area! Ormeggio also offers a relaxed and private boutique wedding venue providing a unique backdrop of stunning Middle Harbour and Pearl Bay. Making it the perfect waterfront venue for intimate wedding receptions in the beautiful Northern Beaches in Sydney. Our weddings team are experts in delivering a unique, intimate and beautiful waterside wedding venue that your guests are certain to fall in love with and which will create the perfect backdrop for your wedding photographs. ​
Reviewed 7 November 2017

There is really nothing that you can fault about Ormeggio, the location, the food, the wine or the service. We went for my wife's birthday and the degustation menu was filled with great food, so well presented. The wine list is extensive and has something for everyone's taste and budget and the service was attentive, but not intrusive. It's not inexpensive but it does really deliver on an occasion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOrmeggioGroup, Front Office Manager at Ormeggio at The Spit, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for celebrating with us!
We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to the team.
Regarding the prices, our chefs source the best produce from Australia and Italy, and some of the courses require time consuming and technically challenging processes to prepare the dish, which does mean the price is a little higher than a traditional Italian restaurant.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2017

Nothing like enjoying a lunch by the water in Sydney. We inadvertently entered by the service entry but we enjoyed the view getting there even more than going through the ‘correct’ one. If using the parking nearby it’s probably cheaper paying for the whole day rather than by the hour. We hadn’t planned on having the degustation but arrangements seemed to have changed since we first booked and the degustation was all that was available.

There are 3 different degustation options available (plus a vegetarian option if required) which vary in number of mains - 3,5 or 7. The entrees were served on logs (Parmesan chips and trout tortillas) and on beds of dry porcini mushrooms (fontina cheese on potato) interesting and all part of the experience but a little ostentatious for us.

Staff were attentive and friendly, providing the requisite expert commentary about the food being eaten. The mains were for the most part quite delicious. The cod with the polenta and wagyu beef with black garlic were particularly scrumptious. Not a big fan of the liquid Parmesan buttons but the rest of the table were very impressed. Dessert was again a little unexpected - an interesting take on carrot cake - served with fennel seed gelato - very nice and very much enjoyed.

Not cheap - quite expensive actually - but a special dining experience enjoyed with friends.

Thank Cecelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOrmeggioGroup, Front Office Manager at Ormeggio at The Spit, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to offer your honest feedback.
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and I'll be sure to pass o your comments to the team. Our chefs source the best produce from Australia and Italy, and some of the courses require time consuming and technically challenging processes to prepare the dish, which does mean the price is a little higher than a traditional Italian restaurant. If you're looking for great value, you should join our mailing list, we send out a very generous gift on your birthday and you'll be the first to hear about any special offers or promotions. Visit our website for more information.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Beautiful view . Service was incredible with a very knowledgeable sommelier. Every dish was a masterpiece. Our night was amazing. Prices are expensive but worth it for a special occasion. We did the Little Italy degustation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOrmeggioGroup, Front Office Manager at Ormeggio at The Spit, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Grazie Nicole!
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your dinner with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Pretty much the above says it all an amazing restaurant with class written all over it.
Definitely an experience to try word really done or can't explain the wonders of food, that taste, the feel just need to try it!!!
It's not for the faint hearted as it is expensive 3 people and 1 bottle of wine going for there top meal set us back close to $650.
But you get amazing moments.
Its little hard to find behind Dabora Marina on the Spit
But worth the visit 100%

Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOrmeggioGroup, Front Office Manager at Ormeggio at The Spit, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Grazie Tony!
We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and I'll be sure to pass on your lovely feedback to the team.
Our chefs source the best produce from Australia and Italy, and some of the courses require time consuming and technically challenging processes to prepare the dish, which does mean the price is a little higher than a traditional Italian restaurant.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

The view over the wAter is beautiful on a warm sunny day. We had the degustation with was beautifully presented and tasted amazing. Also we left full which don’t happen much at these fancy restaurants.

Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOrmeggioGroup, Front Office Manager at Ormeggio at The Spit, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely feedback! It's great to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. I'll be sure to pass your kind words on to the team and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ormeggio at The Spit also viewed

Freshwater, Warringah
Mosman, Greater Sydney
 
Willoughby, Greater Sydney
Milsons Point, North Sydney
 
Mosman, Greater Sydney
Mosman, Greater Sydney
 

Been to Ormeggio at The Spit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing