We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST EVER CULINARY EXPERIENCE”
Review of The Herring Room

The Herring Room
Ranked #3 of 421 Restaurants in Manly
Price range: AU$16 - AU$46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Manly
Description: ‘You don’t see many restaurants like this anymore’ Nicholas Jordan, Broadsheet. Manly's favourite restaurant, is located just off the beach in a landmark site that locals have long admired. The Herring Room is family owned & run by veterans of the industry. It's set in a 1920’s inspired space w good old fashioned hospitality. It's contemporary meals are delivered confidently, inspired by flavours from all around the world. The Herring Room is the sister restaurant to the recently closed & hugely successful, long running Potts Point restaurant The Sardine Room. HOST YOUR PRIVATE LUNCH ANY DAY OF THE WEEK! Select from a range of cosy rooms to suit your event. Celebrate a birthday, special occasion or corporate event with us!
Reviewed 26 March 2020 via mobile

BEST EVER CULINARY EXPERIENCE

We ate at Herring room last week, we had the best food ever, we had eaten in a restaurant. We are seasonal travellers, and love our seafood, and love our food!!
There were 6 of us dining in, we all ordered different entree and a different main, All were very delicious, melt in your mouth experience and fresh!

We loved it so much last week, we had booked in for dinner tonight. Unfortunately Caronavirus has kicked in and this restaurant has closed its seating area. So we have ordered takeaway whole snapper, calamari and the dumpling soup.
The takeaway meals is just as good, but missing my herring room cocktails.

This will be my new favourite takeaway

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank Jeevesy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2020

We spent three weeks eating in Sydney and this was the worst. Bland food. Lacklustre service. And the worst part ......the cost. We ate at much more expensive places but the difference was we left those places feeling that the cost justified the amazing experience. Would not return and guests we took who live locally said the same.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SP160965
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2020

Went here off the back of the very good reviews and one our party - a local - having had a couple of great meals there previously...but really didn’t enjoy it. The waiters seemed to be working to a script (“Has garçon advised you of the specials?”) with little genuine enthusiasm or care, and the food really wasn’t that special.

It was one of the most disappointing meals of our trip, despite being one of the most expensive.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SJ115
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
herringroom, Owner at The Herring Room, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Hello SJ115, Thank you so much for posting a review, so we could address the misunderstanding you refer to as "pretentious" with the quote “Has garçon advised you of the specials?" The senior section waiter asked if Gaston (our wonderful Argentinian waiter) had the opportunity to advise you of our daily specials, not garçon (waiter in French for those not aware). We're sorry you didn't enjoy your meal. If you do venture back to Sydney we do hope to change your mind. In the meantime safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020

Ambience was ok, but restaurant was almost empty.
Waiter was very much "going through the motions", was not service orientated.
Ordered 2 fish dishes and had to send 1 back as was under cooked.
Dishes are small with very little vegetables.
Over priced for what is on offer.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mancitymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2020

We recently celebrated a milestone birthday with 40 of our dearest and closest friends and family. We chose The Herringroom in Manly as it’s our favourite restaurant. Angela, Rodney and Sam have always delivered a great dining experience and this was no exception. The food was delicious, the service was on point and the venue created a super familiar yet elevated experience. Bravo and thank you.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank C2155XTalanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Herring Room also viewed

Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 
Manly, Greater Sydney
Manly, Greater Sydney
 

Been to The Herring Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.