We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel
Ranked #12 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Manly
Reviewed 24 April 2010

This hostel hygiene level has a lot to be desired, the ladies bathroom was nothing less than disgusting unfortunately. The oscillating room fan, oscillated in the wrong direction causing a hot room sweaty room. However, this hostel makes up in other areas, the roof top terrace is a cute area to hangout, and the common area is very sociable- even with the constant films playing. Manly, the better Bondi, is a lovely little seaside town with nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2009

We had a "deluxe" room with ensuite. Firstly our ensuite was outside our room, the curtain rail kept falling off because it was busted, room is very tiny, no car parking, the shower was unclean and only had one screen of the door, no wardrobe - for a budget motel/backpackers saying their 4 stars - its a crap 4 stars from my book. There was a fan in the room which was a plus, but everything was broken. $120 of ripped off we were.

However, the positives - it was really quiet, centrally located, pillows were comfy and beds, staff were friendly and I guess we didn't really go to manly to stay in our room.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candy_skies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Check-in was OK but got the feeling we were taking the receptionist away from her friend who she was chatting to in reception. When got to the room you could tell it hadnt been cleaned in quite a while but when I checked the bathroom I was disgusted! It had not been cleaned since the previous occupants! There was wee still in the toilet, bugs in the toilet, mould everywhere, the tiles on the floor were white when they were black underneath! We booked and paid for a room that had our own bathroom facilities! We paid more for this room and it was worse than the backpacker part! Got the receptionist up to clean it but it was almost as gross as when she had finished! I am a receptionist at a hotel where I live and I would be ashamed if this had ever happened to me! Also there is a club right next door that has music blaring from 8pm to 4am! If you have been on a long haul flight and want to get a good sleep then you wont find it here!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventurer_forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

I didnt book my room and the lady for check in was ok. But when I got in the room, it was terrible. Things everywhere, carpet dirty, strange smell. And i could see in other rooms and that was just the same. But the worse was at check out. Very rude manager, no possibilities to leave our luggage. The only good things are the location and the outside terrace where you can breathe fresh air. Go somewhere else if you can !

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skargot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

Stayed here with a friend in a private room with ensuite for an amazing price in the busy season. We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff at check in. The room was clean, the ensuite bathroom was very clean - there was a tv, dvd player (and dvds at reception desk!), kettle and free tea and coffee in the room! Manly is a really buzzing place especially in the summer, even if you don't just want to go surfing or laze around on the beach. There's some great cafés, bars and shops around sydney rd/central ave. Definately be staying here next time i'm on the Northern Beaches!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manly hotels
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Manly
Manly Guest House
Manly Guest House
#3 of 13 in Manly
120 reviews
Manly
Manly Bunkhouse
Manly Bunkhouse
#1 of 13 in Manly
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel

Address: Shop 63 the Corso, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Manly
Price Range: $34 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!!!BREAKING NEWS!!!! I would like to introduce myself: My name is Laura and I am the new manager of the Boardrider Backpacker & Budget Motel!! I would like to welcome everyone from all over the world to come & stay at our backpackers based in Manly Beach (literately a 1 minute walk from the main beach, YEW.) We have been and still are very busy UPGRADING our services on EVERY level! The surf is pumping & jobs are coming in daily so come and check it out ----> HAPPY DAYS ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardrider Backpacker And Budget Hotel Manly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing