We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price of wine is over the top”
Review of Garfish

Garfish
Ranked #7 of 131 Restaurants in Crows Nest
Price range: AU$38 - AU$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our focus is on serving the freshest fish available at a reasonable price for the ultimate seafood dining experience. Free parking (2 hrs Mon - Sat and all day Sun) is available in the council car park 50 metres from our Crows Nest restaurant.
Reviewed 23 March 2024 via mobile

Garfish at Crows Nest is one of our favourites and has been for many years. Food and service is great.
However I find the price of wine has become excessive. We had a bottle of Chardonnay which cost $95. On checking bottle shop prices for the same wine and vintage, I find the average price to be $22. A mark up of 330% is really excessive.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank WineloverPinotNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2024

Let me preface this by saying that I nothing but good experiences with Garfish to date..until last Sat night. Dinner for 6, despite booking table not ready, entrees (6, all the same) arrived 50mins later (no explanition)..for 3 of us. The other 3 - again, same food - well, they arrived 15mins after the first 3, claimed kitchen staff lost ordering ticket (WTF??)
Mains arrived, blend as. One (salmon) - due to severe undercooking (and my wife likes sashimi :-) could not be eaten. Salads were wet and dull. A disater, possibly due being overwhelmed by Sat night crowd. Irrespective - not a good experience.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank bapo1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2023 via mobile

I think I was lucky to get in as a walk up on a Saturday night. It is a busy place, so plan on booking. Service was very helpful and friendly. I had the grilled octopus with green olives to start. This worked well with a nice BBQ flavour complemented by the olives. The main was one of the market fish. It was excellent with a really nice mash. The dessert of sticky date pudding was also very good as a more winter choice. Overall I was very happy and would strongly recommend this place if you like fish. There are other options but if you like fish this place is well worth a detour.

Date of visit: May 2023
Thank 845grahaml
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2023

Could NOT recommend this restaurant highly enough. Food is delectable, service efficient and delightful and the whole dining experience was brilliant. My daughter and I will be going back to Garfish for all of our ceremonial occasions.

Date of visit: March 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garfish Crows Nest, General Manager at Garfish, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2023

Thank you so much Barbara - wonderful feedback to receive. And we can't wait for you to come back! Hope to see you and your daughter soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2023 via mobile

We have returned to this restaurant many times over the years; it never disappoints. The fish on offer is varied and beautifully cooked. My favourite this time was the prawn tacos, a generous appetiser with the best selection of flavours to delight the palette. It was also Morton Bay Bug season, not to be missed, never seen in Europe to the best of my knowledge, a real treat.

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank Bbpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garfish Crows Nest, General Manager at Garfish, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2023

Thank you so - really appreciate the feedback and can't wait to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garfish also viewed

North Sydney, Greater Sydney
St Leonards, North Sydney
 
Crows Nest, North Sydney
 

Been to Garfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.