We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
23
25
17
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
25
17
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking great place to stay hostel fridge ensuite
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week, the rooms are stuffy, smell pretty badly, and could use a good cleaning. The staff were polite and helpful. The hostel was only filled with construction workers and no one was really interested in meeting any one new. Also the location is pretty remote it's over an hour from the city, and theres not much to do. It's a pretty typical YHA hostel as in there is no atmosphere no mixed dorms and feels more like a cheap hotel vs a hostel. Though there is no better options for the area, so if you must go to north Sydney it's your best option.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a family room with ensuite bathroom in March. Room was comfortable and clean with lots of space for storing bags.

Bathroom had a small plumbing issue - the staff were very helpful but it didn't get fixed before we left (to be fair, we were out a lot and didn't really mention until late into our trip).

Staff were friendly and helpful.

Close to the beach but far from a lot of the popular tourist attractions. We had a car and used the car park next door which was excellent. Pretty sure there were bus routes nearby.

Would stay again!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Fubs90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night, was in and out. Checked in, dropped my bag, went out for diner. In the morning was looking for my clothes....gone. So far I noticed 4 pieces missing. I have been traveling for 2 months and never had problems. This is a shame! Funny thing, in my 5 bedroom dorm there was gear frim only one person but 3 of us sleeping there. Is it because it had happened also just before me and people removed their gear !?!?

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nathalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Manager at Sydney Beachouse YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Nathalie,
I am sorry you had your belongings stolen. This is horrible for anyone, no matter where it happens. We do ask all guests to be careful with their property, as it only takes one person's actions to ruin your holiday. Every dorm bed has a secure locker in the room, and we have extra security lockers by reception. For small valuables that you want stored safely, we can place them in our office safe free of charge for any guest.
Make sure you report any problems to the staff or manager, so if your goods are found, we can send them to you.
I hope the rest of your travels are problem free.
Regards,
James and the Sydney Beachouse Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

The hostel was full of workers (which would be nice if you're working as well but I wasn't). The Rooms were smelly, the bathrooms and the kitchen a mess, the common area was dirty and the atmosphere wasn't too nice. Plus there is not really anything to do around.
Bonus: free surfboards!

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank Soefchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Manager at Sydney Beachouse YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Soefchen,
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are a workers hostel, which suits many people, but not all. Working holiday makers are allowed to work for the same employer for up to 6 months, meaning many stay for this amount of time.
We did however have problems with the cleanliness of the hostel, but now with our new housekeeping team, we are back to a great standard.
If you ever have problems during your stay at any YHA, just let the staff know so we can fix things while you are here...we would rather you enjoy your stay!
Thanks for taking the time to give feedback.
Kind Regards,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Turned up and had a speedy check in and found our 6 bed dorm quickly.
Also there is FREE SECURE PARKING! All seemed nice an clean which we were happy about. Big lockers for backpacks long as you have your own padlock. Kitchen has great commercial stoves but you need to either leave a deposit for cutlery or bring your own. This wasn't mentioned when we checked in but luckily had our own in the car!
The pool was out of order which was very disappointing as it was a factor in us choose the YHA. Foxtel didn't work again disappointing. Showers great! Lockable cubicles with lots of space to hang things and to put your shower gel on whilst showering. Great pressure and endless hot water! Just what anybody wants.
Very quiet hostel with time limits on drinking which suited us as we aren't party animals.
The second reason we booked the hostel was the free use of surfboards, boogie boards & snorkelling gear we found this to be great. We paid a $20 deposit each and had use of 2 boogie boards for the day. They were great a real positive & saved us some money!
The dorms were clean comfy & quiet overall a cracking little hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraCollins93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews