We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,139)
Filter reviews
1,139 results
Traveller rating
979
93
35
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
979
93
35
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews il mulino costa grill house car tranquility pool juan carlos rolls royces adult pool four seasons bedroom oceanfront suite kids club huge bathroom ice water top of the line sunny isles the ritz steam room every staff member
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 1,139 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

First impression: Service - wow

At check in you are offered champagne, bellini or a few types of water. The f


ront desk person gives you a tour of the property & walks you to your room.

Rooms: We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. Just beautiful. There is a good size balcony with doors from the living room & the bedroom. There are 1.5 baths, a full kitchen with wolf oven & sub zero frig. The frig was stocked with beer, wine, soda & juice available for purchase. They also had Several bottles of liquor & wine on the kitchen cabinet (also available for purchase). The kitchen has a bar with stools & a nice 4 person dining table. There is a living room with a pull out sofa & an office that has a Day bed type set up where the office could be an extra bed. The main bathroom is very large. The vanity has 2 sinks. Separate shower With a rain shower head that is surprisingly powerful. It also has a hand shower head. Be careful with that because our friends accidentally had it spray outside onto the floor because they weren’t careful with direction it was pointed. There is also a jetted tub with a rubber ducky. The bed is VERY comfortable. We slept great here. The hotel also has provides complimentary shoe shine available.

Beach/pools: We spent time at the adult pool & the beach. The pool staff will set up chairs & bring a pitcher of water. They roll up a towel to create a headrest on the chairs which is quite comfortable. The pools are heated to 87 degrees so they feel great and are not cold at all when you get in. The water temp is “just right”. For you fellow sun worshippers, The pools lose sun around 2 or so as the resort buildings block out the sun. The beach gets sun a little longer. We loved that the pools are very close to the beach - for example when we were laying out at the beach we would go get in the pool to cool off & it wasn’t a long walk.

Costa Vida: There are several patio type grouping of seats on grass just at the edge of the beach in front of Costa Vida. We Ordered cocktails & a snack. The server automatically brought water without us asking for it. He also brought extra sauce for th calamari without being asked. Loved how they anticipated what you may ask for. We also had very good hamburgers on the beach one day. The portions are generous. The shrimp cocktail is like a prawn cocktail. The shrimp are very large.

Il Millino breakfast buffet: very nice. Lots of items to choose from. Some of which include: beautiful fruit, meats & cheeses. An omelette station & will also cook eggs any way you like them. The breakfast potatoes are very yummy. Great bacon and they have 2 types of sausage. They have made to order pancakes - including chocolate chip & banana. It’s expensive but was very good.

Books: the Aqualina has a “bedside reading program” where they invite you to enjoy a selection of complementary books to read during your stay or to take home to share with others. I brought 2 books home - one was a children’s book & one was an adult book that I saw many other guests reading at the pool. Cool idea!

Concierge: The concierge team is very friendly & helpful. It seems like one of them is ALWAYS there. They even found a few coolers we could borrow to keep our beers cold while we went to a dolphins game.

This is a very family oriented resort but can also be nice for people with kids. There was a noticeable amount of guests speaking foreign languages.

Two examples of great service from the pool staff. We asked Aris, a server, if they served yeungling. They didn’t at the resort but a few days later Aris went & got some Yeungling & brought it to our room. Another example is from Sarah, who set up our chairs one morning. We shared that we were from Denver in town for the Dolphins game vs the Broncos. She told us her grandparents lived in a Denver suburb & that she was also a bronco fan & Champ Bailey was her fave bronco. We also told her that we sometimes use the term Schampions (like champions) when referring to wins in a game. Later in our visit, in our room we find a wooden plaque shaped like a football with “Schampions of Aqualina” written on it along w a bronco picture & a very gracious note saying Sarah appreciated meeting people from Denver. That’s going the extra mile.

If you are looking for nightlife this is NOT the resort for you. If you want a relaxing experience the Acqualina fits the bill.
The only negative we experienced was Spotty WiFi & only 1 or 2 bars on AT&T cell phones.

Due to the price we considered this a splurge but after our experience we would considering coming back.

Restaurants: highly recommend Timo across the street.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Goombagirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcqualinaManagement, General Manager at Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear Goombagirl1,

Thank you so much for this detailed review and please know all of us at Acqualina are immensely grateful that you and your husband chose us to luxuriate during the Dolphins VS the Broncos game.

Please know I have already disseminated your wonderful sentiments among to all of our "dream makers" here at the resort who were equally overjoyed!
As you perfectly captured, Acqualina is not simply a luxurious resort with elegant accommodations or a backyard with 400 feet of beach front right at the Atlantic Ocean, but even more it is the passion, dedication and commitment from our team which really takes great pride and joy in serving our guests.

Thank you also for highlighting Aris and Sara by name, we have means to reward true excellence and I will gladly see to it. We are incredibly fortunate to have a passionate team of “dream makers” who go the extra mile to make our guests feel at home.

Please let me know if I may be of any service and from all of us at Acqualina, we are looking forward to becoming your "home away from home".

Have a wonderful weekend and happy holidays!

With Sincerity

Christof Pignet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

It is true that it comes with a high price, but the property is first rate in every way. Great beach access and a great set of heated pools. The interior of the building is done in a luxurious way that is a departure from the usual Miami minimalist style and gives it a warm feel. The staff was spot on in getting whatever you needed at the pool or beach. One other nice thing is that the Acqualina has a great location, about equally distant between Miami and Fort Lauderdale making it easy to go to either place to see the sights or go to the restaurants there.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JRD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcqualinaManagement, General Manager at Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Dear JRD49,

Thank you so much for visiting our "paradise" and it is wonderful to read how much you enjoyed the experience. Rest assured, the pleasure was all ours and we very much relished the opportunity to delight you on this occasion. Please do not hesitate to reach out if I may be of any service in the future as well, it would be an honor and a privilege. A happy holiday season to you and your loved ones!

With Sincerity

Christof Pignet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Upon arrival, we were politely greeted and our bags were whisked away. We received a champagne welcome and a cold lavender towel. The check in staff was amazing. Our room was spectacular! We reserved the One Bedroom ocean front suite. There was an expansive bathroom, kitchen, living room, and an office/den with a day bed. We had lots of room for the crib and the baby had her own space. I didn't think that you could get family resort and luxury together, but they proved me wrong. The kids club is great. They have many activities for the little ones 5 and up. There is a zero entry pool which is perfect for my 1 year old. Our bed was very comfortable and so were the pillows. The view was incredible and we slept with the doors open to hear the waves. It was very soothing and relaxing....well, as relaxing as a vacation with a one year old can be. I didn't get a chance to check out the gym like i usually do or the spa but hopefully, we can do that next time if we have help.

Room Tip: one bedroom suite ocean front 11th floor
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
13  Thank Patrice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcqualinaManagement, General Manager at Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear Patrice L.

Thank you so much for visiting Acqualina and even more so, truly allowing us to embrace you and your wonderful family. Please know it was a true pleasure and privilege to serve and provide you with this exceptional experience. It is lovely to know you were able to enjoy a great variety of the luxurious amenities provided and hope you will return for a gym and spa visit.

Particularly the latter is truly a haven of tranquility and an oasis of calm, a highlight not to be missed! Please feel free to contact me personally if I may be of any service at all and my very best to you and your loved ones. Happy holidays and warm regards.

With Sincerity

Christof Pignet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

My family and I visited the Aqualina to celebrate my husband’s birthday. Upon arrival the first thing we noticed was the courteousness of all the staff from the bell hop to the front desk. The service was top notch. As for the room they are above average size with tons of room to lounge around. We were traveling with our 8 month old son and the hotel Baby proofed the room, provided a crib, diaper genie, high chair and play pen. As for the Aqualina itself it is an amazing beach front property that is family friendly and immaculately maintained.

We enjoyed our visit very much the only reason I did not give the hotel 5 stars was because we did have issues with our AC unit both nights. The night manager who handles the situation was very kind and offered for us to move rooms which we chose not to and brought us a fan. He also gave us a credit back for the inconvenience. Lastly I gave the hotel 4 stars instead of 5 is because I enjoy staying in nice hotels and do not mind paying extra to do so, but I find it ludicrous that 2 small black coffees w Splenda are $15.00. It felt like armed robbery.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank sil2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcqualinaManagement, General Manager at Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear Sil2111,

I greatly appreciate you taking the time and posting this review about the Acqualina Resort and Spa on the Beach.
It was a great pleasure and privilege to not only pamper your husband on his special day but that you were also able to feel “at home” with the baby amenities specially prepared for you and your son.
At the same token please accept my sincere apologies for the challenges pertaining to your Air Conditioning during your stay.
We are glad to have been able to solve it swiftly and we are looking very much forward to welcoming you and your family for a future visit to Acqualina!

If there is anything at all I may assist with in the interim, please do not hesitate!

With Sincerity,

Christof Pignet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

The hotel is fantastic! Ideal for families or couples, this property is one of the best points of interests in Miami. Such a jewelry in the middle of Sunny Isles! We loved the experience and will recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Ocean Front Room will def improve your stay
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kenya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcqualinaManagement, General Manager at Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Kenya M,

Thank you so much for this lovely review, we truly and sincerely appreciate it. Please know that it was nothing but a true delight to be able to pamper you at this most recent experience and we are already looking forward given the opportunity to do so again on a future visit! Until then all of Acqualina will gladly remain at your service and sending you ample sunshine from Miami! Have a happy holiday season!

With Sincerity

Christof Pignet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews