We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Worth a Visit if Staying in Guayabitos!

Took a boat trip from Decameron Los Cocos for 250 pp. Seen turtles, stingrays & a good variety of... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Waltra L
,
Winnipeg, Canada
Whales, Island, sand, and sand oh and food

We reserved the whale watching and Isla de Coral tour. We had a little boat just for our party of... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
CdladelMaestro
,
La Center, Washington
Read all 81 reviews
  
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
44
18
9
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
18
9
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white sand pesos per person boat ride clear water guayabitos rental rocks fishes snorkel beach boats
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Happy to have this opportunity. Snorkling on the west coast isn't great. But the waters were calm, the variety of fish that we saw didn't dissappoint, transport to and from the island was excellent.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Alaska-Highway-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

I will definitely go back a second time , don't forget to bring your own drinks . No glass allowed .

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Hector T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We dropped into Coral Island as part of the longer tour to Chacala. Our half hour there was enough. Dirty, crowded, and virtually no facilities. The water was murky and the coral mostly dead. I wouldn't recommend staying there all day.

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank LoveBucerias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We paid 200 pesos to take a water taxi to Coral Island and were there 3 hours. On the way we passed Crab Island and attempted to see Blue Footed Boobies on the back side of Coral Island. We did not have any sightings but the snorkelling was good. Lots of fishes and a statue underwater to see and generally good. Try to find shade if you can-it can be hot! Was crowded and few amenities, but we had packed snacks and water so it was good. Family in front of us brought their music, a bit loud, but ok. Overall a nice day

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank ingridb610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

I suspect that Isla del Coral could be a decent trip if you hit the perfect conditions and/or you have low expectations. However, with facets of the trip being completely misrepresented (Kissing Beach, Tortuga Beach, glass-bottomed boat, restaurant semi-existent but not open, etc.) and the weather and tides not cooperating, this trip is a total bust. I'd not recommend Isla del Coral to anyone. Especially poor at the cost of $500pp MX.

TL;DR - The details…

Read about this place before heading out for our (now) annual Buceriás trip. We visited Isla del Coral yesterday, 23 January 2018.

Everything I'd read prior to visiting had been pretty darn positive. There were a few negative reviews tucked in there, but they seemed to be a small minority, so I wasn't too concerned. Whoops.

We were promised a visit to the "Kissing Beach", a glass bottomed boat with a tour of the smaller island and finally being dropped off as Isla del Coral which boasted snorkeling amongst the corals and fishes, and a small restaurant for cerveza and eats.

The day was overcast that there was some chop to the ocean. We boarded a very crowded boat over 60-minutes past the designated departure time and upon settling in realized there was no glass bottom-unless you count fiberglass. The life vests were in questionable state, many showing signs of mildew and without the male end of the clip with which they could be properly secured. This made them fragrant as well as unsafe.

The "Kissing Beach" we learned is "private" thus it was simply pointed out to us as we passed. Everything announced while on the boat was in fast Spanish so I've really no clue as to what was said. I relied on my wife who speaks Spanish to provide the translation about the Kissing Beach as well as any other proclamations made, of which there were few. The smaller island which we were promised held lovely views of fish, coral and crab were non-existent as the boat just plowed on by and, with no glass bottom, would have been pointless anyway. Tortuga Beach? Uh, did we miss something? Apparently as there was zero reference to it at all as we continued on.

We were soon deposited on the small dock on Isla del Coral with questionable snorkeling gear and walked over to the beach. For a national natural reserve, it is a disgrace. Overall, it feels in a state of disrepair and while there are many signs reminding not to litter, garbage abounds. The tables, chairs and umbrellas are all worse for wear. Crossing by to the beach one passes a rental hut and the path up to the restaurant. It smelled like a septic field.

Once one finally gets to the beach, it is very small. This will be exacerbated by the tides. It is very clear at this point that, in order to enjoy any snorkeling or time on the beach, you will need to ensure the seas are very calm and you go at low tide. Sadly, for us, we hit neither. The tide was high and the chop we experienced on the mainland carried over to the island making the turbidity quite great and navigating through the coral for an attempt at snorkeling perilous.

The amount of exposed beach was minimal due to the tides and occasional waves almost reached the walls of the island. We also noted that even had the tide been farther out, there is more rock covering portions of the beach than pictures previous of the beach seen online indicated. Combined together, there wasn't much sandy beach to be had.

You'll need to keep possessions on your person or find a ledge on the island's rock walls to place your stuff. As per another review, many of these rock walls are white with guano so careful what you touch or where you place your bags. Should you find a nice ledge sans poop on which to place your belongings, be careful should you use bare hands to brush off some of the dead leaves and other detritus. There are small ants in there with a very nice bite. Ouch!

After 40-50 minutes analyzing the situation and positioning our belongings, we gave up and decided to retire to the restaurant and have a few beers while waiting for the return boat as there was nothing else to do. We hiked past the decrepit tables and chairs for rent and up the path to the restaurant to discover that it was locked up and closed. While there did appear signs that it is still in use, at least occasionally, there were no hours of operations posted.

Returning down the path to the rental hut, we found that they sell snacks and beverages, including beer. Corona Light in a can is the sole option and $25 MX. We purchased our beer and trodded back to the restaurant to await the boat that would return us to the mainland. Half-way through our beers, we saw the boat approach and scurried down to the dock to hop aboard, happy not to have to wait any longer in this place.

At the dock, people were dis-embarking after an uneventful trip whale watching and we were initially told we would need to wait another hour on the island to return. Thankfully, my wife can be pretty convincing and with her grasp of the Spanish language was able to get us onto the boat and mainland bound. We had a good laugh on the boat about our (mis-) adventure while the boat pilot blasted local tunes over the speaker system.

We soon hit the mainland, left the boat and, after a long walk on the beach, grabbed better beer, tacos and settled into the car to return to Buceriás.

Date of experience: January 2018
8  Thank TotenUnterhosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews